At Loooooong Last…

31 Aug

… I give you my very, very beautiful Fireside Cardigan:

fireside finished 2

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern:
Fireside Sweater by Amber Allison (Ravelry link)
Yarn: The Knittery 10-ply Aran Possum/Merino (Rav-link again), natural/undyed. Currently unavailable, since Daphne shut up shop and moved overseas.
Needles: 5mm Knitpicks Harmony interchangeable circular
Modifications:  I added a little extra length, and continued the 4-stitch rope cables up along the shoulder. Otherwise, it’s pretty much by the book.

Well, there was drama and angst galore (if you’ve come in at the end, you can find links to all the bloggage through my Ravelry project page), but OH. MY. GOD!!!! Was it ever worth it! This is without doubt the most beautiful thing I have ever made. If I knew at the outset what I know now, I would change a couple of things – I would tweak the shaping in the back to really emphasise the hourglass outline of those cables and I would make the sleeves a little less snug in the upper arms – they fit, but there’s no room for sleeves underneath, and if I’m not careful at the gym I’ll have to re-do or remove the sleeves altogether.

I sewed the buttons on this morning, and wore it into Orange today to take Boyo to the paediatrician (routine checkup – he’s grown 4cm, and has gained about 300g since February when we last saw Dr K). The weather was conveniently cold and miserable, and the cardi is deliciously warm and not even slightly itchy (I was wearing a short-sleeved tee underneath it.

If Tech Support can get himself home before dark one day this week, I’ll get him to take pics of me in it; if not, then this weekend, I promise (hint: it fits PERFECTLY!).

Plus, BIG BONUS!!! I still have oodles of the yarn left. I’m not sure how, but even though I bought 12 x 100g skeins, and the finished cardi weighs just a shade over 700g, I somehow have 800g of the yarn still in stash – easily enough for another whole jumper. I can’t help thinking of that TimTam ad

7 Responses to “At Loooooong Last…”

  1. Kylie August 31, 2009 at 8:33 pm #

    it’s magnificent! well done, and props to you getting through all the angst and drama 😉

  2. amy August 31, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    Oh, congratulations! It’s extra satisfying when a troublesome knit is finally finished! I’m looking forward to the modeled pics.

  3. Rose Red August 31, 2009 at 9:09 pm #

    Oh it is truly a masterpiece! Wonderful! Congratulations on finishing it – and being able to wear it straight away! There’s nothing better, is there!!

  4. Leonie August 31, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    So cool! Wonderful that you were able to use it immediately too. All of the perseverance was worth it. Great job!

  5. knightlyknitter September 1, 2009 at 6:30 am #

    Wonderful!!! Glorious!!! Utterly fabulous!!!

  6. Tinkingbell September 1, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    It looks gorgeous – and I know how hard you worked on it!

    Super squee! and feel free to mine my queue anytime!

    Now I think I’ll have to make one too – just because it looks so lovely!

  7. Lynne September 5, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    Well done and I’m so glad that it was cold enough for you to wear it! It’s been like spring this side of the ranges for at least three weeks!

Leave a Reply

