Out with the old…

4 Sep

Now that I’ve finally finished the Fireside Cardi, I have been seized with the desire to cast on something new. But I have a whole bunch of WIPs sitting there taunting me on my Rav-page; this is one of the benefits/liabilities of Ravelry, depending on how you look at it: if one is given to head-in-the-sand behaviour when it comes to how many projects one has on the needles (not that one is that way inclined at all. Cough, cough), then having current WIPs on one’s Ravelry page can be either a spur to get ’em finished or just an unpleasant reminder of how flaky and distractible one is.

Might I add that Miss Rose Red’s Festival of Cast-on-itis is NOT HELPING AT ALL!!!

Anyhoo, I have a plan of my own, which is intended to clear out the parade of WIPs (some of which have been hanging around long enough to be classed as UFOs), and still let me have a little new-toy fun.

I am going to go pick one (1) WIP at a time (as opposed to the Work Basket Roulette method I have been employing lately), and work on it until done. First cab off the rank will be the socks I started for Tech Support’s birthday. He got a single, solitary sock on the day and a promise that I would get the other one done as soon as I had finished the Fireside. Of course, that was back when I still thought I had a hope in hell decent shot of getting it done in time for Bendi. Har-dee-har-har! It is to laugh!

Anyway, the payoff to all this project monogamy will be this: for every finished WIP, I get to cast on one new small project (eg: socks) to be my purse knitting, as most of the WIPs are largish things: a shawl, a Tantric Puzzle Top, a baby blanket. Some other projects will be coming out of long-term hibernation to be ripped and re-purposed: this (Rav-link) will be excavated from the depths of the linen-cupboard, frogged and recycled into a Moderne Log Cabin Blanket. I still haven’t decided what I’m going to do about the Ugly Sock – I’ll keep you posted.

That said, I have cast on one new project (although in my defense, I cast it on before I formulated the plan): as I have mentioned, my sister is having her second baby, and I have knit a hat for the newbie (further baby knitting to proceed once baby is born and I know if it’s a pink one or a blue one). Anyway, the new baby is getting all sorts of cool, fun stuff, and I thought I would cast on something for the big-brother-to-be. When you’re only two-and-a-half, it must be very hard to see all these presents coming into the house, and be told that none of them are for you.

Accordingly, I went stash-diving, came up with some left-over Heirloom Easy-Care 12-ply (my yarn of choice for kidlet knits – it’s soft, tough, 100% wool and yet it washes like ack), and on Wednesday I played about in the dye-pots. This is what we have so far:

DSCF0029

The beginnings of a Dead Fish Hat. I’m really pleased with how the yarn dyed up – I tried something new, and came up with just the sort of short colour sections I was looking for. I think it looks like fish-scales!

4 Responses to “Out with the old…”

  1. amy September 5, 2009 at 8:55 am #

    I gave up adding my projects to Ravelry until they’re finished. I was ripping too many things in those distractable postpartum months. (And, um, ten months postpartum I’m STILL ripping an awful lot.)

    I saw you’d added the Dead Fish Hat to your projects, though, and it reminded me that I think I wanted to make that at some point? Oh, who can remember, even WITH a queue?? I’m hopeless at the moment. 🙂

  2. Tinkingbell September 5, 2009 at 12:06 pm #

    Be strong – strong!
    I need to put aside a couple of weeks and get mine out of the way – but most of mine are small – because I tend to fall in love with big things and think the other stuff won’t take long. Sigh. Good luck!

  3. Leonie September 5, 2009 at 4:12 pm #

    Oh you are such a clever chicken, working out how to get rid of some WIP’s by new project motivation and dyeing that yarn up to such a beautiful colour selection and quite scaly too. Want to see the dead fish hat, maybe one of my kids might need one one day…let’s not look at my WIP’s!!

  4. Rose Red September 6, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

    I don’t think there’s anything at all wrong with casting on whatever you want (but you knew I’d say that!!).

    Having said that though, I think your idea of clearing a wip and rewarding with a cast on is a good one!

    And the fish yarn is perfect – clever you!

Leave a Reply

