Purdy.

11 Sep

DSCF0053I was sitting at my computer this morning at half-past nine, finishing off the second coffee of the day, checking email, and generally trying to find creative ways of avoiding the housework when the phone rang. It was the school; Boyo had collided with another student and bent his glasses so impressively that they wouldn’t stay on his face. He also has a little graze on the cheek-bone, where his frames dug into the skin, and I’m pretty sure he will have a lovely shiner by tomorrow morning. Now, the kid is as blind as a bat (seriously, his lenses are approaching Farnsworthian thickness), so I had to take him into Orange and get them bent back into wear-able shape. DSCF0057Once our primary mission was accomplished, I ran a couple of errands (no point going all the way into Orange for just one thing), and then despite his attempts to parlay it into an entire day off, I (cruel and insensitive mother that I am) dropped him back off at school and headed home for more housework avoidance.

As I pulled into the driveway I noticed a parcel sticking out of my mailbox. I instantly jumped on the brakes and hopped out the car to grab it – not normal behaviour for me at all: I would usually put the car away and then walk back to the mailbox, but I was pretty sure I  knew what this parcel was.

DSCF0056Meet my new pet skein, 470m of Yarn Love  (Rav-link) merino, spun into 2ply fingering-weight lusciousness by the very talented Donyale. I have promised her to love it  and take extra good care of it (not a hard thing to do: it’s so very, very beautiful), and knit it into something extra specially gorgeous before Bendigo next year, so Donni can have an access visit. Until It tells me what it wants to be, it will sit on the side of my desk and be admired. Thank you again, Donni, for letting me take all this gorgeousness off your hands. 🙂

Now I guess it’s back to ignoring the housework. Sigh. It never ends, does it?

4 Responses to “Purdy.”

  1. Leonie September 11, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    Oh my that is gorgeous, it will need lots of admiration. Hope boyo’s eye doesn’t get too shiny!

  2. becky c. September 11, 2009 at 11:56 pm #

    Oooooooo pretty! Me want.

  3. Kate September 13, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    pat it and cuddle it and put it beside your pillow…

  4. Lynne September 15, 2009 at 4:01 pm #

    That is indeed gorgeous! Glad your son is okay.

Leave a Reply

