One Down…

14 Sep

Behold! The first of my WIPs to be turned into a FO:

DSCF0059

Tech Support’s Shhhhh…. (Super Sneaky Secret Birthday Socks) {Rav-link} have now become his Extremely Belated And Not Even Remotely Secret Birthday Socks.

DSCF0060

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern:
Lighthouse Gansey Sock, by Anne Hanson for Knitty (Winter 2007 issue)
Yarn: First Edition 5-ply sock yarn, bought blank from Mandie at Ewe Give Me The Knits, dyed green by me.
Needles: 2.75mm Knitpicks Nickel-plated Classic Fixed circular
Modifications: Evidently, Anne Hanson’s husband has skinnier legs and smaller feet than T.S., because I used thicker yarn and bigger needles than she did, and still had to add in an extra 8 stitches to get them to fit him.

They came out very nicely indeed, as they bloody well should, given how long I’ve been (not) working on them. Still can’t get decent colour reproduction in these pics, though, so you’ll just have to take my word that they are a lovely rich bottle green, and not a murky non-descript grey.

I wove in the last of the ends at about 10.30am, lobbed them in the bathroom sink for a pre-block soak, and immediately sat down to cast on my ‘reward’ project. And the newly cast-on thing is…

DSCF0063

Socks (of course). Arch-shaped socks to be precise. Kate was working on a pair of these at Bendigo, and they looked so comfy and foot-huggy that I had to give them a try. The new sock will be living in my handbag for the next little while. At home I’ll be working on the Dead Fish Hat. My sister’s baby is due at the end of the month, and all things being equal we’ll be going to visit her in the first week of the holidays (can you believe  Term 3 is almost over?), so I’d best get myself in gear and knit this little man his hat.

Finally, I had an hilarious and utterly unexpected piece of good news today. I’ll elaborate on that little teaser later in the week, but I will say that I’ve been prey to spontaneous outbursts of laughter all afternoon.

4 Responses to “One Down…”

  1. Leonie September 14, 2009 at 10:31 pm #

    Congrats on the socks, I’m sure Tech Support will love having them finished.

    and what’s this about secrets??? Nasty woman fess up!

  2. becky c. September 14, 2009 at 11:36 pm #

    Those arch huggers look kinda cool – thanks for the link. Isn’t it weird how cameras can suddenly be color blind?

  3. Kate September 15, 2009 at 9:42 am #

    You are a wretched tease.
    (Enjoy the socks)

  4. Lynne September 15, 2009 at 4:05 pm #

    Very handsome socks!

    I haven’t even started knitting for #1 grandbubby yet [due late February].

Leave a Reply

