There was this one time? at band camp?…

21 Sep

What happens in Bendigo, stays in Bendigo. Unless there’s Rohrspatz & Wollmeise on the line.

Last week, I mentioned I’d had some good news… well, this afternoon, it landed in my mailbox:

DSCF0068

Here’s how I got this particular skein of needle candy – there was a game of Bendi Bingo played at the eponymous S&W. The rules provided for people to collect the signatures of fellow Ravellers, merchants and stall-holders on their cards, and then scan or photograph the results and post them on the appropriate Ravelry forum for judging purposes. Time went by, not many people had done so, and last week Zephyrama was asking for funny stories to go along with the cards, because there were prizes going begging. So I bit the bullet and posted the harrowing tale of my jeans (that noise you just heard? That was the rest of the Hustler Street Posse sniggering). This is what I posted:

Well, the only funny Bingo story I have isn’t actually about getting the cards signed. I dropped my card on the ground, and when I bent over to pick it up, I ripped the arse out of my jeans. That was about 10.30ish, so I spent the rest of the day at the showgrounds with my bum hanging out. Thank god for long coats, is all I can say.

I don’t know, is that worth a skein of Wollmisery? 😉

This was Zephyrama’s reply:

Um, having seen the flesh, YES IT IS. so pm me your addie my dear and a skein of Saami is coming your way.

 (Just to clarify, when we got back to Hustler Street and I told the Posse of my mishap, they demanded to see. There was wine. And wool fumes. Shut up.) So, for the bargain price of flashing a little(ish) sliver of arse-cheek, I now have my very own skein of one of the most coveted yarns in the Blogiverse!

It was worth it.

5 Responses to “There was this one time? at band camp?…”

  1. Tinkingbell September 21, 2009 at 5:12 pm #

    It definitely was worth the wollmisery! Lovely stuff and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it!”

  2. Rose Red September 21, 2009 at 5:17 pm #

    heh heh, definitely deserving of the big W!

  3. Leonie September 21, 2009 at 5:30 pm #

    I’ll say, it was definitely worth it! Still haven’t gotten my little hands on any Wollmeise, but the way I knit I probably wouldn’t go back to anything else so it’s probably a good thing!

  4. Kylie September 21, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

    damn, I knew i left too early that day 😉

    definitely worth the good stuff, well earned!

  5. Lynne September 22, 2009 at 3:52 pm #

    And very pretty yarn it is too!

Leave a Reply

