WIP-off #2: Dead Fish Hat

22 Sep

Please note: Lots of Ravelry links in this post.

DSCF0076I’ve finished the knitting part of the Dead Fish Hat. I’m not sure if I love it. I’m going to give it a couple of days to grow on me, and if the love doesn’t come, I may yet rip it and go with Turn A Square instead.

Meantime, I’ve finished a WIP! Yay! That means I get to cast on something new! Enter the first of the Chrimbo socks, which also happens to be September’s SKA Mystery Sock. I haven’t played Sockdown! Ravelry for months and months, but when I swung by the forum t’other day and noticed that this month’s Mystery Sock was designed by Nancy Bush, well, it was a given that I was in. I’m VERY late to the party, but I’m not cheating by looking ahead at the clues.

DSCF0074Now, the other theme for the month is yellow. I thought about using a different colour, but considering that the whole point of Sockdown! is to step outside your socky comfort zone (plus the fact that someone on my Christmas list is very partial to yellow), yesterday I dug through stash for some Patonyle, swooshed it through the dyepot, and came up with this —>

I’m not a fan of yellow by any means, but I must say this yarn is pleasing me no end. It’s lovely in the skein, gorgeous in the yarn-cake, and knitted up… well, you be the judge:

DSCF0080

That’s Clue 1 (the ribbing and that funky-groovy little sideways braid), and one repeat of Clue 2.

Love(1000).

2 Responses to “WIP-off #2: Dead Fish Hat”

  1. Tinkingbell September 23, 2009 at 9:43 am #

    The hat really gets better once the eyes are on! You’ll love it then!

    OOOOH _ Adore the sock – must go and check (will they let me play?……)

  2. Leonie September 24, 2009 at 11:04 am #

    OOOhhhhh the socks are lovely. That yellow is fabulous by the way. What dye did you use? I’ve just cast on in Patonyle for my Best Friends Socks and it is knitting up so nicely. Good recommendation, thanks!

Leave a Reply

