Next, please.

4 Oct

October means the start of Southern Summer of Socks (maybe… Bells? Rose Red? Anybody?).

At the very least it means a new challenge on the Sockdown! Ravelry group. Conveniently, given that I have several of the beasts on my Christmas list, one of the challenges for October is Socks Designed for A Man.

DSCF0126Behold my FIL’s Christmas socks. The plan is to make a pair of Hiiumaa Mismatched Mates (Rav-link). They will be teal, with the contrast stripes in dove grey. The pattern is conservative, yet wacky, which is my FIL all over and I really think he will like them.

Please join with me in praying to the Knitting Gods that I can survive the endless acres of plain stocking-stitch required to cover his size 11s.

I believe the word you are looking for is masochist.

4 Responses to “Next, please.”

  1. Rose Red October 4, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

    I do love a stocking stitch sock – lovely mindless knitting…

    There will be SSoS again, I’ll post on the blog in the next couple of days!

  2. Tinkingbell October 4, 2009 at 7:06 pm #

    Kewl -great socks for meeting, travel and sitting about!

  3. Lynne October 5, 2009 at 8:58 am #

    Rent a really good [long] movie [or two] – the stocking stitch will fly by!

    Good luck!

  4. Leonie October 5, 2009 at 4:01 pm #

    Hey, great colour! It must be the time of year for A-Longs, there’s a whole pile of them happneing at the moment and SSOS willl be another. Wow what a busy time Summer will be!

Leave a Reply

