That Lactic Acid, she is a bitch from hell.

16 Oct

grouchomarxWhat with having the boys home for the school holidays, getting to the gym has been a bit of an issue the last couple of weeks, so I’ve been working out here at home with the equipment I have to hand. Mostly on the exercycle, but on Wednesday morning I got out on the AirWalker that lives on the back verandah, to change things up a bit, and take advantage of the (briefly) lovely spring weather.

Now, the AirWalker’s motion is based on the action of cross-country skiing, and apparently is working muscles that I haven’t been using. At all. EVER. Because beginning late on Wednesday afternoon, and continuing all day yesterday and today, I have been walking like Groucho Marx. My calf-muscles feel like they are trying to tear themselves free and run away.

Ouch. It had better pay off come Tuesday, is all I can say!

5 Responses to “That Lactic Acid, she is a bitch from hell.”

  1. Kate October 16, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

    I snigger in sympathy 🙂

  2. Regenia October 16, 2009 at 9:17 pm #

    And here I was thinking you were having sympathy on me and my micro exam today. Btw, at puberty, lactobacilli ferment glucogen (which stimulates estrogen synthesis) into lactic acid, which is actually very protective to our girly bits. Hope I remember as much of the really important stuff.

  3. Tinkingbell October 17, 2009 at 11:08 am #

    It’s only when you leap out of bed in the morning (LEAP spelled C R A W L ) that you really notice it…. (and I lost 1kg – despite hardly any excercise last week!)

  4. Lynne October 17, 2009 at 5:18 pm #

    Hurray for your persistence!

  5. Leonie October 17, 2009 at 5:44 pm #

    Jules watched a program a couple of weeks ago that said you burn more calories for up to 24 hours after you finish exercising, than during the duration of the exercise!

Leave a Reply

