And the birthday numbers are…

20 Oct
  • Starting weight: 88kg (194 lbs)
  • Weight today: 71.3 kg (157.2 lbs)
  • BMI: 25
  • Loss this week: 0 kg
  • Total loss so far: 16.7 kg (36.8 lbs)
  • I lost nuthin’ in the last 5 days. Which is odd. I can only assume that the self-torture to which I subjected myself on the AirWalker the other day caused some muscling-up. But you know what? I’m not upset – I mean, the numbers would have been nice and all, but the only number I’m really interested in at the moment is this one:

    DSCF0154

    Size 12. As in size 12 JEANS! Size 12 birthday jeans that FIT ME!

    Please excuse the blurry, but that's what you get when a 9yo is wielding the camera

    Please excuse the blurry, but that's what you get when a 9yo is wielding the camera

    I’d just like to thank you guys for acting as my cheer squad. Knowing that you were pulling for me helped me to “Just Say No” to many, many tempting treats. I don’t think I would have made it this far without your support and encouragement. You guys rock!

    Okay! Enough with the mushy stuff and on to the birthday report: as of today, and continuing until Saturday night, I am Single Working Mother Woman (my new superhero secret identity – consider yourself sworn to silence). To elaborate, the Single part is because this morning Tech Support flew down to Hobart for a conference. Given that this is the third time in four years that he has been away working on this particular day, he has formally requested that I change my birthday to a different time of year. The Working part is because I am Lunch-Lady Doris again for two weeks, while the new LLD takes a long-anticipated holiday (I believe the Mother and Woman components are self-explanatory). My day itself wasn’t horrible – some of my friends dropped in to sing me Happy Birthday and give me a card (thoughtfully eschewing cake). My birthday also had star billing in Sasquatch’s classroom, as I was his News item today, so his teacher wrote me a card, and several of his classmates came in at lunchtime to wish me a happy day (they’re all just so damn cute!).

    Tonight I am treating myself to take-away Chinese for dinner, and once T.S. comes home on Saturday, there will be cake. There is also some woolly birthday goodness on its way to me, but I’ll blog that when it gets here (I try to stretch out the blog-fodder as and when I can).

    8 Responses to “And the birthday numbers are…”

    1. Rose Red October 20, 2009 at 5:36 pm #

      Happy Birthday!! Yay you for doing so well!! And you definitely deserve takeaway for dinner – no cooking on your birthday!

    2. Tinkingbell October 20, 2009 at 6:39 pm #

      Awesome! Look at that fabulosity! go you and 12ness!

    3. Lynne October 20, 2009 at 6:47 pm #

      Happy birthday – all four [r is it five?] days of it!

      and congratulations on the Size 12! woo-hoo!

    4. Becky C. October 20, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

      Yay you! Looking good in what Miranda calls “squeezy” jeans. Don’t get too tiny to wear your cabled sweater!

      Happy Birthday!

    5. amy October 21, 2009 at 3:21 am #

      Happy Birthday, and good for you!! Husband has a conference every year over Columbus Day weekend (Oct 12th-ish), and that’s yet another reason I was glad Baby Girl wasn’t born early. Her dad would have missed her birthday every year.

      We like to have “Birthday Gala Weekends.” Stretch it out as long as you can!!

    6. Leonie October 21, 2009 at 7:13 pm #

      Congrats on the Size 12’s yay for you. There was a lot of hard work in there and I’m really happy for you! Roll on the long time Birthdays, I love it when they last more than one day!

    7. Kylie October 22, 2009 at 6:24 pm #

      zing, you look hot in those jeans! well done, and Happy Birthday. So glad all your hard work and effort has given you such great results 🙂

    8. Kate November 1, 2009 at 1:05 pm #

      Oh you look FABULOUS!!! I’m so thrilled for you!! And I think you’ve just inspired me to go for a second walk this afternoon!!
      Utterly awesome. Congratulations on your work, determination and reward.
      And I wish you’d been able to come to Hobart with your hubby!!!

    Leave a Reply

