A Finished Object (and other stuff)

31 Oct

DSCF0158

Canary in the Mine Socks

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern:
 September 2009 Mystery Sock (Fox Faces Socks) by Nancy Bush (rav-link)
Yarn: Patons Patonyle 50g balls, hand-dyed canary yellow by me.
Needles: 2.25mm Knitpicks fixed circular, Magic Loop method
Modifications: I upped the stitch-count from 60 to 72, to fit the recipient, used Nancy’s Estonian Cast-on, which is desperately cool, and made my very first ever Vikkel braid.

DSCF0163Now, I’m not normally a fan of yellow, but I’ve really enjoyed the bright sunny colour as an antidote to all the dreary, rainy, overcast weather we’ve had in the last month (also, this last week, while my glasses were at the shop getting the lenses replaced, I’ve really appreciated the hi-viz colour!).

In other news, I finished up my two-week stint in the canteen yesterday. The money is nice and all, but it really didn’t take long to remember why I quit in the first place! Getting the kids out the door in the mornings has been sheer bloody purgatory, and I haven’t weighed in this week, but I’m pretty sure that I’ve gained back a little weight – I’ve been on my feet for five hours every day, but it’s mostly standing, not the sort of aerobic or weight-bearing activity that I’m used to doing. Then after work, I don’t have time to get to the gym before I pick the boys up, and by the time we get home, there’s homework, and afternoon tea, and the inevitable argument over who gets to watch what (if any) TV, and then getting dinner on, and, and, and…  Back on the horse next week, for sure. I miss my workout (and there’s four words I never thought I’d put together in a sentence!).

DSCF0161We don’t do Halloween here (in our house, at least. The last few years we’ve had groups of surly teenagers showing up at the door demanding sweets. I just send Tech Support to the door to glower at them – he’s bigger and scarier than any three of ’em put together), but the school has a book-fair every year around this time, and the kids get to dress up as a character from a book. Yesterday, Sasquatch went as Angry Pirate, the title character from a story he wrote in class last week, and to which he has added on a daily basis, until it’s now an epic saga to rival the Nibelungenleid. Boyo had outgrown everything in the dress-up box (note to child design team: this so-called “growth” feature is a flawed concept!!!), so in a last-minute flash of inspiration, I sent him as Arthur Dent. There were two or three other pirates, but otherwise the school was a sea of vampires (and, not to snark, but since when was Hannah Montana a character in a book?).

Speaking of vampires, I finally rented Twilight last night, just to see what all the fuss was about. If you loved the books and movie, you should probably look away now, because I was unthrilled. Robert Pattison did the best he could with the material to hand, but in my opinion Edward Cullen and his family are the most bloodless vampires since Louis de Pointe du Lac. And Kristen Stewart… well, I hope she has learned how to deliver a line between the first and second movies, because I had to put the subtitles on to understand what she was mumble/blurting. I won’t be spending my hard-earned on a ticket to see the new one, that’s for sure.

6 Responses to “A Finished Object (and other stuff)”

  1. Rose Red October 31, 2009 at 6:03 pm #

    Oh the wonderful vikkel braid – I’ve used that on numerous socks since I first did it (on a Nancy Bush pattern of course!) – makes you feel so clever doesn’t it!!

    Twilight – I have managed to avoid reading the books and seeing the movie(s). And will continue to do so I think!!

  2. Lynne October 31, 2009 at 6:55 pm #

    Very cute Sasquatch and Boyo!

  3. gemma November 1, 2009 at 4:49 am #

    I love the costumes, especially Dent Arthur Dent.

  4. Tinkingbell November 2, 2009 at 10:23 am #

    Love the sunny yellow socks!
    I liked the Twilight books (although they did rather overload the teen angsty-ness ) but the actors in the movie looked less angst-ridden and more constipated!
    Arthur Dent? Genius! (an there probably is a hannah Montana colouring book somewhere…….

  5. Leonie November 6, 2009 at 7:50 pm #

    Loving the bright, bright yellow, hope they are received well.

    What a flash of inspiration to go as Arthur Dent, excellent choice, did he take a towel????

    • kissmyfrog November 7, 2009 at 11:30 am #

      But of course! Boyo is a hoopy frood who really knows where his towel is.

Leave a Reply

