Wollmeise, and what to knit with it.

11 Dec

So, now that I’m no longer under the gun as far as Chrimbo knitting, I’m wanting to cast on with my FAHbulous Wollmeise. But what to knit?

I knew I wanted to do something scarfish, ’cause it’s Wollmeise after all, and seriously, how likely am I to get my hands on another skein of Wollmeise any time soon (Wollmeise Wollmeise). So I didn’t want to hide my Wollmeise under a bushel (or in a shoe, for that matter). The second consideration is that the Saami (Wollmeise) colourway is very very bright, so whatever I make with it needs to be really simple, to let the colourway do its (Wollmeise) thang. With this in mind, I went to Rav, and looked up what others had made with it (Wollmeise). So while I was ogling other people’s projects, I took particular note of what (Wollmeise) had been made with that  colourway (Wollmeise Wollmeise Wollmeise).

I’ve narrowed it down to the following four patterns (all Rav links, all the time):

Baktus: This is dead simple, and completely perfect for such a strong colourway. A garter stitch triangular little shawl, knitted sideways. There’s a very nice lacy variation here.

Aestlight: I would never have considered such a lacy pattern for this yarn, but some very brave knitter made it in the Saami, and it looks brilliant!

Lace Ribbon Scarf: Again, very, very simple, and yet enough of a pattern to keep the brain alive. You can see what it looks like in Saami here.

Lengthwise Feather & Fan: Ah, the ubiquitous F&F, what would we do without it? It’s ripply, it will break up the most determinedly pooling yarn, and it’s very very easy.

So, any thoughts? Any other suggestions (you know, just to muddy the waters and all?)

Wollmeise.

3 Responses to “Wollmeise, and what to knit with it.”

  1. Tinkingbell December 11, 2009 at 1:11 pm #

    Hmmm

    500ish metres of colour, what could you do…..How about an ishbel or damson, but I think my favourite is the Drop Stitch Scarf by Christina Vogel -designed for variegated yarns it looks drop dead brilliant!

  2. amy December 11, 2009 at 1:18 pm #

    I like the Aestlight. Thanks for doing the work here. I have several skeins of Woolmeise and am not sure what to do with them. I made a pair of socks out of my first skein, and I loved the socks, but I walked through them really, really quickly. It’s just such a soft yarn. So I don’t want to waste it on disposable socks anymore. I shall consult this post in the future. 😉

  3. Regenia December 11, 2009 at 10:11 pm #

    Aestlight… I’ll catch back up with you once this blasted micro class is done for the semester. I feel like we’ve not had a chance to email chat in ages 😀

Leave a Reply

