Aestlight it is, then.

13 Dec

So despite Tinkingbell taking me at my word and confusing the issue with other pattern suggestions (’cause she’s like that), I have cast on for Aestlight.

Here’s what I’ve got so far:

There’s a bit of pooling happening, but that’s fairly inevitable given a hand-painted yarn and a triangular shawl. I’ll wait and see if it sorts itself out – if it gets so I can’t stand it, I’ll rip back and do something different with the Wollmeise, but one way or another, there will be an Aestlight shawl in my future. Not only is it a beautiful shawl, but the construction is fairly cool: you can’t really see it too well in the pic above, but the increases are these big loopy yarn-overs on the very outside edge of the triangle, which you later pick up to knit the Bird’s Eye lace. Clev-vah! 

Anyway, while I’m feeling cast-on-ish, I’m mulling over what to do with my birthday Socks That Rock haul. I’ve been flipping through my sock pattern books, and digging about on Rav, considering my options. Then this morning while in Bathurst I ran in to the library to return some books, and what should my eyes light upon, but a brand spanking new copy of Sock Innovation! I snatched it off the shelf before anyone else could get it (because, you know, there are absolute hordes of rabid sock knitters lurking in the woodwork, trying to beat me to the sock books), and have had a lovely time this afternoon leafing through it. Unfortunately, most of the patterns aren’t really suited to handpainted yarn, but I can definitely see Rick, Cauchy or Wanida  (Rav-links all) in a handpaint, especially a rich deep colourway like, say Jabberwocky or Puck’s Mischief… Hey, look! I happen to have a skein of each just lying about doing nothing! How convenient! (I have other plans for the Froggin’ and Strange Brew).

4 Responses to “Aestlight it is, then.”

  1. Leonie December 13, 2009 at 5:41 pm #

    Want to see how this shawl progresses, the yarn has less white in it than I expected. Pretty colours too!

  2. Becky C. December 13, 2009 at 5:50 pm #

    That shawl is looking good. I’m jealous you’re knitting for yourself and not frantically churning out Christmas presents like me.

  3. Tinkingbell December 13, 2009 at 6:52 pm #

    Lovely – but I can come up with some other patterns if you need me too…….

    • kissmyfrog December 13, 2009 at 8:04 pm #

      Suuuure you can – because you are EVIL!!!

Leave a Reply

