We’ll just skip over that, shall we?

15 Dec

I wrote this big rant all about how primary schools should remember that they actually have primary-school aged children enrolled, and how they should perhaps take this into account when planning school presentation nights and how this is even more important the very next day when they invite families (many with pre-school aged children) down to the park and then force them to sit in the hot sun for two freakin’ hours while they perform The Nutcracker (for the love of crap!!!)*, but I read back over it, and it made me sound like an angry lunatic, so instead I’m just going to make with the pretty:

Wanida in STR Puck’s Mischief, which I now have to rip back, because even though I am bang on gauge (32st/10cm), and even though I tried it on after I finished the ribbing (at which time it fit fine), I now can’t get it over my heel. I’m not actually too sad over this, because the STR Mediumweight is quite a robust yarn, which makes this a really tight gauge, and I’m finding it a little hard on my hands, especially the K3tog and SSSK. Soooo… I’ll be glad to go up a needle size.

*For those of you thinking “And how exactly is this NOT a rant?”, that is not even close to being as ranty as the full version. Trust me on this. 🙂

5 Responses to “We’ll just skip over that, shall we?”

  1. Becky C. December 15, 2009 at 10:25 pm #

    Nutcracker and hot sun really don’t belong in the same sentence. Did the sugar plum fairy melt?

  2. amy December 15, 2009 at 11:39 pm #

    I probably would have really enjoyed the rant, to be honest. We could trade rants. Earlier in the school year I had a big hissy fit over how the back-to-school night presentations were at the exact same time in both my children’s classrooms, even though we’re not the only family by far with a child in each step (“step” being the school’s word for multi-age classrooms). And no, we can’t get a babysitter so we parents can both attend and split up, because (1) babysitters don’t generally nurse and (2) a babysitter on a school night would just lead to a very, very bad school morning the next day.

    Grrr.

  3. Tinkingbell December 16, 2009 at 12:49 pm #

    And me – while not quite as bad how about 3 weeks including 3 athletic carnivals, an 11 – 5 day of sport, 10 days of daily school swimming lessons ( plus 2 nights per week of normal =swimming lessons) the school picnic, 2 concerts, the combined school sports day, Christmas and I don’t know what else – my kids went insane and and the 5 year old bit people.

    Truly, I am not surprised.

    • kissmyfrog December 16, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

      Good god! If I’d had three weeks like that, I would have gone mad and chewed on a few people!

      Ah well, term’s all over now, and I just have to not kill them for the next six weeks.

  4. Leonie December 16, 2009 at 8:27 pm #

    We (so far) have managed most of our school and kinder duties during reasonable hours, our latest was tonight with the childcare breakup leading to a 9pm bedtime, yep they’ve been in bed a whole 18 minutes and they are actually all asleep too! School has two more days. Tomorrow morning will be the killer trying to get the school kid out of bed and to school on time without resorting to drastic measures. I am holding strong to the thought of Friday…school breakup and then like you, trying to work what to do with the kids that won’t result in m*rder for the next 6 weeks. My daytime hours have been completely mental though, for a stay at home mum I left the house at 8.30 am this morning and got home at 4.30pm, granted I have a new hairdo did some time in the classroom this morning and ran an errand for my brother in law, but seriously 8 hours. Madness. It’s only going to get worse as the kids get older, there will be extra activities and the associated breakups, after Friday everything slows down for us and it will be a lovely change of pace. Hope that everything slows down for you now and you get a peaceful Christmas.

Leave a Reply

