All is quiet on New Years Day

1 Jan

I know it’s not a terribly original sentiment, but it’s very apt here: we didn’t go anywhere last night, the boys went to bed at their usual time, and Tech Support and I got so caught up watching The Return of the King that we missed midnight by about ten minutes (are we party animals or what?). Today it’s raining (yes, my plan is still working: we haven’t had rain every day, but more often than not. Yesterday, I pushed things a little further by borrowing no less than four library books on veggie gardens, and today we have a beautiful, light, soaking rain) so indoor activities are the order of the day:

Check out the concentration!

As a Chrissy present for the whole family, we got The Beatles Rockband for the Wii, which comes with USB-plugin drums, guitar and microphone, and we’ve been playing a few songs every day. Both the boys love music, but Boyo in particular has always shown definite gifts in that area: he can hear a song once or twice and sing it back almost note-perfect, and his sense of rhythm is really impressive. We had already planned to start him on piano lessons this year, but I think I also see a drum kit lurking in our future (I’m sure the neighbours will be thrilled).

I haven’t any great deep thoughts for you, but I do have a few resolutions:

  • I WILL keep off the weight that I’ve lost (sorry, Tink) shifted this last year, and finish up the job. I’ve plateaued a bit since my birthday, hovering more or less around 72 kg, and I really want to get below that magic 70kg mark.
  • I WILL try harder to stay ahead of The Creeping Grey. I have a tendency to ignore it until there’s a good centimetre or two of regrowth.
  • I WILL knit a fair-isle project this year, preferably Updated Old Classic which also has a steek (rhymes with EEK!).
  • I WILL keep my desk as tidy as it is today:

the better to use and admire the groovy new mouse my menfolk gave me:

Ribbit.

I wish you all a happy and peaceful 2010, surrounded by the people and things that you love.

5 Responses to “All is quiet on New Years Day”

  1. 2paw January 1, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    I love your new mouse!! I was in bed before midnight, no party here!!
    What a very cool drummer you have!!
    Good luck with your resolutions!!

  2. amy January 2, 2010 at 12:23 am #

    Happy New Year!! And are those orange walls? Are we psychic twins? 😉

    (Except I don’t do anything about my grey. I’m nursing and it makes me twitchy to think of chemicals seeping into my scalp. I EMBRACE my grey!! Or something.)

  3. Leonie January 4, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    Glad you have had a peaceful start to the year. I started mine with a cup of tea and a piece of chocolate and I am hoping that I will end it in the same way in twelve months time. Love the fact that you have intentionally bought a “noisy toy” it’s fabulous! Good luck with your resolutions. I’m keeping it simple this year. Wishing you all the best for a wonderful and successful year with all your hopes and dreams being fulfilled or at least one step closer 🙂

  4. Kate January 4, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    Happy New Year!!!

    Your mouse is cool, I shudder to think of drumkits, I’m sure your bod will only get awesomer, and I’ve been having some fair-isle fantasies myself…

  5. Lynne January 6, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    That mouse is soooooooooo cute!

Leave a Reply

