Shoesday!

5 Jan

For a couple of years now, I’ve been on the lookout for a really great pair of winter boots. Every time I pass a shoe shop in autumn or winter, I go in and am disappointed. I have a programmed search on eBay that sends me weekly updates on boots for sale in my size. About once a month I run a search for ‘women’s boots’ on Etsy, which is usually the most depressing one of all, because I have several times found a fabulous pair for a brilliant price, only to find that they are a size 5 or 6.

Last week I had a lucky break, and conveniently, they arrived today:

New-to-me vintage boots from Dirty Birdies Vintage on Etsy. I can’t recommend them highly enough – cool vintage gear (okay, slightly less cool now that my boots are no longer there), excellent service, friendly convo, speedy postage. Thank you Jamie!

Roll on winter.

7 Responses to “Shoesday!”

  1. Rose Red January 5, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    Hurrah for new boots!!

  2. amy January 5, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    Chiquita (and I use that as a term of endearment!!), those are winter boots only in Australia. I’d break my ankle trying to negotiate the slush, ice, and snow all over the place in those. The parking lot at the market was a slush rink yesterday, and I saw some woman in spike heels. She kind of had it coming if she did break her ankle. Mind you, I love the boots. I’d wear them. Just, you know, maybe in the fall or spring. 😉

  3. Kate January 6, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    You know you are gorgeous even without the boots, but really, WOW!!!

    And now you must knit knee-highs with fancy foldover cuffs, or even over-the-knee-highs, because you are going to be wearing skirts with those, and you have to look cool but feel warm all the way up!
    (did that come out right? maybe another cuppa)

    (ps I want me some half-way-up boots – d’you think there’ll be any at that vintage site??)

    • kissmyfrog January 8, 2010 at 10:33 am #

      Yes, I think I puzzled out your meaning. And I’m way ahead of you – I have plans. Big Plans. The sort of plans that may well get me drummed out of the P&C for crimes against the Conservative Dress Code.

      Bwahahahahahaha!

  4. Leonie January 8, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    I’m with Kate, I see knitting of superlong socks in your future!! They are amazing and they look like they fit so well, SCORE!!!

    • jamie April 7, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

      i just found this. Super cute–i love seeing people wearing the things we sell. funny thing is that i was just thinking about those boots today and how i want to find more of those one of a kind beauties. glad you love them! jamie @ dirtybirdiesvintage on etsy

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bullet points are my friends. « Kiss My Frog - April 6, 2010

    […] wore the skirt the next day with my fabulous red boots, and discovered that when I’m walking the boot-lace hooks catch in the  blanket-stitch […]

Leave a Reply

