Distraction.

11 Jan

For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been knitting almost exclusively on Sasquatch’s Tomten. So when I ran out of yarn on the way home from Sydney, I thought to myself: That’s okay, Self, because you ordered the backup ball on Tuesday, and it’s only got to come from Victoria; it should get here on Friday. Unfortunately, Australia Post didn’t come to the party, and I spent the weekend dithering between my various socks-in-progress. The Aestlight shawl is right out of the question at the moment, because apparently I can’t manage to keep a four-stitch, two-row lace pattern straight in my head. I’ll give it another try once the boys are back in school…

Right side.

Anyhoo, last night while watching telly, I couldn’t settle to either sock (for some reason I was finding the tiny needles really annoying), so I took a swim through the stash cupboard and dug out the Bendigo 8ply I bought for Boyo (note to self: stash cupboard in need of a serious tidy). I had a sort of a half-formed plan in my head, so I did a little Googling, and a little Ravelling, and found a pattern that was both simple enough for a neophyte like me, but still interesting enough to impress the punters, and I sat down to swatch.

Wrong side.

Wrong side.

 I feel so clever! My floats were a little tight at first, but that improved as I worked, and I’m pretty sure that blocking will help that out as well.

The final test came this morning, when I submitted the swatch for Boyo’s approval. He loves it (I was pretty confident – patterns, maths and geometry are all high on his list of favourite things), so my plan is to work a wide band of the pattern around the bottom of the body and each sleeve.

And with a little bit of luck, that ball of green for Sasquatch’s Tomten will get here today.

3 Responses to “Distraction.”

  1. Lynne January 11, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    Wow! That’s a big step from knitting socks and/or a Tomten! Good luck.

  2. Tinkingbell January 11, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    Cool beyond cool – looks great and is fabulous – note to self – try colourwork…….

  3. amy January 12, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    That will look fabulous.

    Speaking of Aeslight, its designer is going to be at a knitting weekend in Vermont in March. Someday, I will go to those sorts of things. I will spend a weekend in a lovely inn in Vermont where someone cuts up MY fruit for breakfast, and I will sit and knit. A lot. And learn things. 😉

Leave a Reply

