The only way to get a sensible conversation around here…

14 Jan

So the green Rustic didn’t get here until yesterday afternoon. In the meantime, I took Boyo’s measurements, crunched the numbers, cast on, *realised I hadn’t left a long enough tail for my long-tail cast on, swore, ripped back, cast on again (repeat from *, three times) (yes, it took me FIVE GOES to cast on!), and finally got the correct number of stitches on the needle. Anyway, here’s a taste of what I’ve been up to for the last three days (not counting the extended periods when my hands were too sweaty to let the yarn slip through):

It's a bit rumpled, but you get the idea.

Along about yesterday afternoon it occured to me to wonder what I was going to do about sleeves and head-holes and the like (crazy talk, I know, but some people are picky about such things). So I started footling around on Ravelry, looking for inspiration, when my eye lit upon the knitting books right here on my desk.

“Gee, I wonder if there’s something in one of these books that might help me,” I said to myself.

“Wow, you’re really smart!” said myself back to me (well, if I don’t say it, nobody else is going to). “Anyone would think you put them there for just such a reason.”

“Well, I don’t like to brag, but I do have my moments,” I replied, blushing a little bit —

I’ll not bore you with the whole discussion. In short, it was decided that Beth Brown-Reinsel’s excellent book Knitting Ganseys would be my guide for the basic structure of the jumper. There was some talk of throwing in a little bit of texture, maybe a cable or two in the upper, non-colourwork portion of the jumper, but in the end the consensus was that that would be too much, and the best plan was to keep it simple. So I will continue with the work as is, until it’s an appropriate length, and then it can sit to one side while I make the Sampler Gansey (Rav-link) to teach myself the shoulder construction technique.

Anyway, as mentioned at the top of the post, the green did turn up yesterday, and the Tomten is also back under construction. I haven’t posted any in-progress pics, because seriously, how thrilling is a picture of a big rectangle of plain green garter-stitch? Also, I cannot get good colour-reproduction of greens in this house. I don’t know why. At the old house it was reds. I promise to post pics once I have the stripey fun of the sleeves underway.

It’s been raining on and off for the last couple of hours; good, big, fat, soaking rain which is cooling things down nicely. With a little luck, maybe I’ll get some quality sleep tonight, and this niggly not-quite-a-headache that I’ve been nursing for the last two days will finally go away. Have I mentioned that I don’t like hot weather?

9 Responses to “The only way to get a sensible conversation around here…”

  1. Tinkingbell January 14, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    Still looks uber-cool – and I think big green rectangles of garter stitch are soothing – so there!

    • kissmyfrog January 14, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

      Absolutely, big green garter stitch rectangles are very, very soothing, both in the knitting and in the stroking (mine is currently laid out flat on the dining table for measuring purposes. It’s now 30cm deep and ready for the armhole divide) – they’re just not terribly exciting as blog-fodder. Especially not when the green photographs as a rather murky and non-descript grey.

      Just sayin’. 😉

  2. Lynne January 14, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    I agree: keep it simple; the colourwork is amazing enough. Why put all your skills in one jumper? LOL

    The cool change is good – more conducive to sewing ends in on blankets!

    Yay for Bendigo’s service! I ordered yarn online on Thursday and it was delivered yesterday. Of course, I just had to cast on for the unbloggable project straight away! And I can’t put it on Ravelry either because DD is also on Ravelry. Ah well, all will be revealed in good time.

  3. 2paw January 14, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    I love the geometric pattern, but five times to cast on, that’s horrid!!
    Isn’t it funny to think of a book before the internet!!!
    ANYTHING green is soothing!!

  4. kgirlknits January 14, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    i have those same “in-brain” conversations! crazy notion, using all those must-have knitting books as actual resources, isn’t it?! I usually go to Ravelry to find which book I need from my shelf, have to admit though. don’t know how i thought for myself before Rav?

    the knitting looks great, btw 😉

  5. Becky C. January 15, 2010 at 5:56 am #

    I have a new trick for long tail cast-on. Using ends of 2 balls of yarn, make slip knot and then long tail cast on as always, using one ball for the “over your finger” strand and the other for the “over the thumb” strand. You can cast on forever and not run out of yarn! When you have correct number of stitches, cut off the ball you don’t need and knit the double thickness slip knot as one stitch when you come to it. One
    extra end to weave in but SO much less frustration!!! *insert enthusiastic hand flourish here

    • kissmyfrog January 15, 2010 at 6:12 am #

      Wow! You’re really, REALLY smart! I’ve often tied two yarns together and used the long tail cast-on for a provisional cast-on, but it’s never occured to me to do the same for a regular cast-on. Thank you.

  6. Kate January 16, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    I loves me a slipstitch mosaic pattern, and the Greekiness of that border in blue and cream is just lovely!!!
    It’s a little muggy here today – overcast, breezy and 26* in the house. Oh, and I may have a house for you to rent for a year, 15mins from my house, 5mins to airport, 5mins walk to the beach.
    Just so you know.

  7. Leonie January 17, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    LOving the blue and white together it’s looking real good! Much productive knitting happening over at your house at the moment espite the holidays….it will happen in my house one day.. when the boys are older. Until then there are Stitch’n’B*tch events!!!

Leave a Reply

