Now we are so happy we do the dance of joy!

31 Jan

… for the children, they are back at school!

Actually, they went back on Thursday, but that was the day I had to make an emergency trip to Bathurst for sneakers that actually fit the Sasquatch (Dunlop Volleys, how I love thee – a good, sturdy, unpretentious sneaker for under $20). Then while I was in there, I figured I may as well drop into the library and pick up the next couple of books in the Sookie Stackhouse series (which is why I haven’t blogged until now – I’ve been deep in the Louisiana boondocks for the last three days).

Tomorrow I plan to continue the parade of Things I Couldn’t Get Done While The Children Were Underfoot by breaking out the sewing machine and making a dent in the mountain of cheesecloth I have recently acquired. I think I may be addicted – lately I just can’t walk past the stuff without buying some. You know, just enough to take the edge off…

4 Responses to “Now we are so happy we do the dance of joy!”

  1. Kate February 1, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    Daahling! That is fabulous!! We must do the Dance of Joy together when next we meet… but I cannot do it today, for I too must go – go! Go! Yes, back to school today for me, but my children have another week to play. And the smallest one has orientation for long daycare today – oh, the passing of time, such bittersweet joys to see them grow up so fast…. Now, where’s the vino?

  2. Gae February 1, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    Oh yeah — don’t I remember it well. How much we enjoyed the loooong summer break, and how happy I was to drop ’em off at school that first glorious morning of freedom. Usually planned a quiet ‘day off’ for myself, starting with a coffee shop, a cappucini, and a fifteen minute fantasy of being single and childless! Allowed myself the quiet day off, because I just KNEW (after the first time) that no matter how well I had planned, how well I had stocked up on school stuff, there would always be something extra that had to be bought, and there would be a pile of book-covering FUN to be ‘enjoyed’.

    Those were the days,

    Gae, in Callala Bay

  3. Lynne March 5, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    Would you believe I got a notice on Bloglines today (5th March) that you had posted! Hope you’re still happy dancing!! Was thinking of you last night when I found out the Bathurst Show was on this weekend and wondering if you’d entered anything.

    • kissmyfrog March 5, 2010 at 9:02 am #

      No, I don’t have anything finished. We might take the boys this year, depending on the weather (it started raining in the wee small hours of the morning). If we do go, I’ll have a look and see what the standard is, and maybe I’ll enter something next year.

Leave a Reply

