F.O. Friday: Hii-UGE-maa

12 Mar

Finally, I have finished the socks I originally intended for FIL’s Christmas present.

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern: Hiiumaa Mismatched Mates, from Knitting on the Road by Nancy Bush.
Yarn: Paton’s Patonyle 50g balls (from the Big Bag O’ Patonyle in my stash cupboard), colour 0068 grey, dyed teal (and some left natural for the contrast stripes).
Needles: 2.25mm Knitpicks classic fixed circular, magic loop method
Modifications: Knit over 80 stitches rather than 72, because my FIL has big, wide, ginormous feet, and a high instep, which brings me to my next mod: using a tip from the lovely Knightly Knitter, I worked the heel flap over 60% of the total stitches instead of the usual 50%. This little trick has served me well in the past for Tech Support’s socks (who inherited his feet from his father, and then bequeathed them unto Sasquatch). Rounding up the usual suspects, I used my standard Eye-of-Partridge heel flap, French/Half-Handkerchief heel turn, and Wedge toe.

So, that’s one pair of Father’s Day socks out of the way…

6 Responses to “F.O. Friday: Hii-UGE-maa”

  1. becky c. March 12, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    I love the fraternalness!

  2. Rose Red March 12, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    I love these socks! But wow, there is a lot of knitting in these – 80 st on 2.25mm – hope your FIL is suitably appreciative!

  3. Leonie March 12, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    Love the difference between the two socks. Did you dye the yarn separately in batches to get the differences? Really like the stripey one lots 🙂

    • kissmyfrog March 12, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

      No, I dyed the teal all in one batch; the colour difference seems to be an optical illusion caused by the striping. It’s even more pronounced in person.

      And thanks! 🙂

  4. Lynne March 12, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    Pretty colour – hope FIL likes them.

  5. Kate March 13, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    Liking the socks!! Maybe I need me some? Let’s see, left-over striping yarn mixed with a single solid could be nice…
    And I’m glad you like the tip – it helps me no end with my deeeeep heels 🙂

Leave a Reply

