Bullet points are my friends.

6 Apr
  • I have been a very bad blogger. Again. I have no real excuse. I have been reading a lot in the last couple of months: the entire Twilight series, Wolf Hall, the occasional Brother Cadfael mystery, a couple more Sookie Stackhouse books, and most recently The Nineteenth Wife. This last I can’t recommend highly enough, especially if you’ve been watching Big Love.
  • The other weekend while we were driving to Forbes, we passed an alpaca farm. Tech Support was telling me that he thought they had closed down, and indeed there was a “For Sale” sign on the fence, right next to the one saying “Alpaca Shop Now Open”. Do you need to ask what happened next?
  • While I had the flu, I lost my voice.  For three entire days I was reduced to a whisper, followed by two more days of cracking and squawking like a thirteen-year-old boy. This caused some… diffculties, as Boyo’s Aspergian routine apparently requires me to shout at him several times a day (I have long suspected this to be the case, but last week removed all doubt), and I was physically incapable of performing said task. It was unpleasant, to say the least.
  • On Wednesday 31st, Tech Support and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary. I can’t claim any particular credit for this monumental achievement: it seems to me that our marital longevity is mostly due to T.S.’s immense patience with my increasingly mad “quirks”. He will, I’m sure, dispute this, but I don’t know anybody else who would have put up with me for so long. When you get right down to it, he is the best person I know, and I’m very smart for nailing him down before anybody else could get her hooks into him.
  • We didn’t go out (babysitter issues), but the in-laws are coming to visit soonish, and have offered to sit with the boys one night while we go out for a belated dinner-date.
  • We ordered a new couch for our anniversary present. This feels right to me, as our anniversary marks the “birthday” of our little family, so I like the idea of getting something for all of us. It’s a big cushy number in dark chocolate wide-wale corduroy. Pics in six weeks time when it is delivered.
  • I went shopping and bailed out some red Patonyle that I’ve had on layby for simply ages (I love my LYS so much). I have a project in mind for this yarn that will prove once and for all that I am completely mental!
  • I also got an extremely cute new hoodie and a gorgeous skirt from my favourite clothes shop.
  • I wore the skirt the next day with my fabulous red boots, and discovered that when I’m walking the boot-lace hooks catch in the  blanket-stitch embroidery on the hem of the skirt. I’m going to have to unpick the blanket-stitch and re-do it (’cause it got all yanked out of whack in four or five places), and then figure out a way to line the back of it with something. I’m thinking a wide-ish piece of bias binding ought to do the trick. Or maybe I’ll just line the whole skirt.
  • Before anyone goes making foolish suggestions like “don’t wear the boots with the skirt” – that’s just not an option. They look too great together to even consider that as a solution.
  • The Easter Bunny came, bringing chocolatey goodness for all of us, as well as four whole days off for Tech Support. We didn’t go anywhere or do anything thrilling, just hung about the house and did family stuff.
  • Speaking of Easter, this means somehow ten (10) weeks of term-time have evaporated while I wasn’t looking and it’s now school holidays. We have projects planned, as well as daily walks with the boys to offset all that Easter chocolate.
4 Responses to “Bullet points are my friends.”

  1. Rose Red April 6, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    So much news! Happy Anniversary! Happy new lounge! Happy red patonyle!

  2. Lynne April 6, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

    Happy anniversary!

    I love the new hoodie – so bright and colourful.

    Enjoy the holidays.

  3. 2paw April 6, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

    Wow, no wonder you need bullet points. So much has been happening!! Maybe you could iron some fusible webbing kind of tape, or ribbon backed with heat’n’bond on the back of the blanket stitched edging, that might help it stay and not pull??? Hope you voice is back and functioning again!!

  4. amy April 7, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    Happy Anniversary! “When you get right down to it, he is the best person I know, and I’m very smart for nailing him down before anybody else could get her hooks into him.” I feel the exact same way about my husband. 😉

    Is that second picture a detail of the skirt? I think we need a picture of the skirt WITH the boots, modeled, of course!!

Leave a Reply

