Road Trip!

21 Jul

So, last Thursday I loaded up my baby car and headed off on my annual Epic Voyage to the Australian Sheep & Wool Show in Bendigo.

I have no photos of the actual fun and games to offer, as I was suffering my usual bout of camnesia, but if you go look here, there is a pool of photos displaying various acts of wool-fueled silliness.

A gorgeous time was had by one and all, the Hustler Street Posse (AKA Tinkingbell, Zephyrama, Donyale, TwoLittleFish and K-Girl) was once again the bestest group of girls who ever shared a house, plus I got to hang out with Dr Bones, LoomMonkey and the completely awesome FiestyWench, who has organised all the Bendigo Ravelry events for the last three years, and done a spectacular job of it. We ate too much, drank too much, laughed and talked and knit and laughed and talked, and I indulged in a little retail therapy:

Enough BWM 12-ply for a cardi for me

Sock yarn from EGMTK! Mandie

More sock yarn from Ms Gusset

Noro Silk Garden for a husband scarf

Some wool/silk, destined for a dip in the dyepot

A knitting book. 'Cause I don't have nearly enough of those.

Then I packed up all my goodies and came home. It took a couple of hours before I could peel my children off me, and about another 24 for my brain to reboot, and today I am back to reality. Reality looks like this:

Pegs, frozen into rainwater.

Sigh. Only 358 sleeps ’til Bendigo.

6 Responses to “Road Trip!”

  1. amy July 21, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    My husband would never wear anything that color. Then again, I don’t knit for him. He just wants “sweaters that look like the ones from the stores.”

    • kissmyfrog July 21, 2010 at 11:55 am #

      It will be striped with navy, to “man” it up a bit.

      I haven’t yet made Himself a sweater, as I don’t have the stamina for the acres of knitting that would be required. One day he will have a gansey-style something-or-other, but that day is not today.

  2. 2paw July 21, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    Oh such a nice collection of wool!! Glad you had a great time: it was icy cold and frosty here this morning too!!

  3. Leonie July 21, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    Glad you made it safely home. That tiny car is a bit of a worry beside big trucks 😛 Thanks for a great weekend, loved catching up. Definitely doing it again next year, just might have a husband imposed buying limit……

  4. Kate July 24, 2010 at 8:24 am #

    Nice selection of mementos there m’dear… a 12ply cardi sounds nice right about now (the funk soul brothers) because it is a leeetle bit cool down here. Probably not as cold as western NSW though (yay for cool-temperate harbour cities!)

    Ah, two more days of TdFKAL monogamy and I will pull out something else to knit. Something red. Something Luxury-ous. Something with cables. Something that will be WARM once done.
    ***
    Oh and maybe four different socks too.

  5. Tinkingbell July 24, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    Gorgeous yarn – lotsa fun – definitely on for next year! I am in the midst of a self-imposed Festival of Finishing – which is surprising fun!

Leave a Reply

