with apologies to sasquatch and the tomten…

26 Aug

This morning Boyo finished getting ready for school in record time, so when he wanted to admire himself in the blog pics, I was happy for him to sit there and watch the slideshow go around and around while he laughed in a disturbingly Beavis-and-Butthead-esque fashion. Once Sasquatch finished faffing about getting dressed, he came over to have a look and wanted to know if he had a slideshow, too. I said “No, you have a gallery, but it’s easy enough to turn into a slideshow. I’ll do that for you now.”

So I went into the blog archives, and as it turns out, I didn’t do a proper Finished Object post for the Tomten jacket. I took him out the back and did a photo shoot, complete with various “funny poses”, and I posted said pics on the Rav-page, but I never got around to the actual blog post.

So I promised to do one today, and with many a mea culpa, here ’tis:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Vital Statistics:
Cast On:
December 23, 2009
Finished: June 30, 2010
Pattern: Tomten Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmerman (Rav-link)
Yarn: Bendigo Woollen Mills Rustic 8ply; 3 balls colour 964 “Green Tweed”, 1/2 ball colour 951 “Peppercorn”, and  2 x 50g balls of co-ordinating but nameless Back Room multi-colour twist.
Needles: 4mm Knitpicks Options nickel-plated circular.
Modifications: Well, I don’t know if you’d really call it a modification as such, but I worked the sleeves in the round, which meant purling every other row, while the pattern called for the sleeves to be knit flat, ’cause as we all know, EZ hated to purl. Otherwise, I stuck to the Sacred Text (in this case, Knitting Workshop).

Tech Support says that this is the nicest thing I’ve ever made. I disagree – I think that honour is held by the Fireside cardi, but this one is definitely in the top three.

5 Responses to “with apologies to sasquatch and the tomten…”

  1. Leonie August 26, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    You’re such a good Mum! Pretty sure I’ve seen photos of it finished though, not sure where….

    • kissmyfrog August 26, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

      Probably on Ravelry. I did post them there, just not here. 🙂

  2. 2paw August 26, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    Excellent modelling and I love the new hand knit!! The striped sleeves are a marvel!!

  3. Rose Red August 26, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    It is a great knit, but I agree with you, your Fireside cardi is simply stunning!

  4. Kate August 28, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    It does look great, and he looks pretty pleased with the whole shebang, but no, it cannot compare to your Fireside Cardi!!

Leave a Reply

