Colour.

6 Sep

Apparently those five days last week were all the spring we are going to get this year, as it has rained and stormed and otherwise precipitated all weekend. So, in an attempt to colour my world, I’ve been dyeing some yarn. It’s not actually raining-raining this morning, so I ran outside and took some pics to show you.

First, I took some elderly crepe-spun superwash 8-ply (most likely Patons or Cleckheaton) that I reclaimed from an old jumper, and I dyed it up for a Jayne Cobb hat:

Then I skeined up a few balls of Patonyle and turned it into the following:

 “Wood Duck”: Teal and brown over a beige base.

“Wattle”: Gold and green over cream/natural.

“Convolvulus”: blue and teal over pale grey.

…And my favourite:”Blackberry Jam”: magenta and deep purple over pale grey.

I’m so happy with how they turned out, I think I’ll do some more.
6 Responses to “Colour.”

  1. 2paw September 6, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    Lovely colours: the Jayne hat and the green and gold are my favourites. It’s stopped raining here and the Sun is shining again!! Hope the Sun shines on you too.

  2. Rose Red September 6, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Nice work! The blackberry jan and convolvulus are my favourites.

    I went to see Joss Whedon at the Opera House last weekend and yhere was at least one Jayne hat in attendance too!

  3. Becky C. September 6, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    I’ll just be over here coveting. Those purples are making me drool!

  4. amy September 6, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    I stopped in at a new yarn store yesterday with the girl, and she picked out a skein of sock yarn that I can honestly say I wouldn’t have ever looked at twice before that little sweetie entered my life. It’s…vibrant. But I thought, you know what? I bet those colors will cheer me right up when they’re on our feet in February and there’s no sun in sight and the sky is grey and there’s two feet of snow built up on the side of the walkway. I love your colors & totally understand your motivation!! We get months without sun, too. Spring with no sun is the worst. It feels like such a cheat after a long winter.

  5. Leonie September 6, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    Seriously gorgeous colours. Way to go Kate you’re rocking the dyeing!

  6. Kate September 8, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Wow, you have been busy! Those yarns are wonderful!! Next question – what will you make out of them????
    And weather wise we are having a spring – crunchy crunchy frost and 4*C this morning, with warm sunshine zooming us up to the mid-teens mid-afternoon. The grass is jumping out of the ground after last week’s constant rain, and I have a mad urge to grab seed packets and gardening gloves and abandon myself to planting. But still rugging up morning and night, and the ritual of the hot water bottles must be observed!

Leave a Reply

