You guys saw it too, right?

3 Oct

Yesterday we took  the boys to see Despicable Me. It was hilarious (I have a bit of a soft spot for Steve Carell), and this time I didn’t get soft drink dumped into my lap (last school hols we took them to see Toy Story 3, and when Woody was in mortal peril, Sasquatch launched himself into my lap for comfort. Unfortunately his orange drink was in the cup-holder between our two seats, and came along for the ride).

Anyway, afterwards as we were driving home, I’m discussing the movie with Tech Support and he said that he didn’t think it was as good as the Ice Age movies or Horton Hears a Who (the producers’ other credits). I disagreed, and when he asked why, my reply was “the knitting.”

He looked at me like I was insane, but I tell you in all seriousness, the animators of this film know and love their knitwear.

Had I a daughter, there would have been an Edith hat on the needles five minutes after we got home. I was completely mesmerised by Miss Hattie’s fuzzy angora sweater (sorry, I can’t find a decent pic of that, but if you’ve seen the movie, you know what I’m talking about), and I’m thinking that any animated movie where you can clearly make out not just the K3P1 rib on the protagonist’s turtleneck, but also the way the seams line up along the shoulder – that, my friends, is a movie made by knitters.

2 Responses to “You guys saw it too, right?”

  1. 2paw October 3, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    I want my own minions, but yes, the knitting was great, I noticed his jumper and the little girl’s hat!!

  2. Leonie October 3, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    That is fabulous. May just have to go see it now 🙂

Leave a Reply

