Snow on Cherry Blossoms, and a Finished Object.

16 Oct

The weather is behaving oddly again – last night we got snow!

So this morning the boys got rugged up and went out to play in it.

There were attempts at snow angels…

… and attempts at snowmen…

…right up until the snow melted through their sneakers and they realised that snow is cold! So now they are back inside, with dry warm feet, curled up on the couch watching cartoons.

It’s a funny thing how much circumstances affect attitude. This snow is very nearly as unseasonal as the fall we had almost two years ago, but whereas that time it pissed me off to no end, today I’m finding it absolutely charming. Two years ago, we were moving house in the snow and sleet and rain and wind, whereas this time, there’s nothing we have to do today and nowhere we have to be, so we can park ourselves in front of the fire and listen to the wind playing jug-band music on the chimney-top while we watch the flakes fall through the sunshine outside the window.

While we were outside with the camera I recruited Tech Support to take some pics of the Yarn Love Cowl, so here ’tis:

 

The Vital Statistics:
Cast On: July 12th, 2010
Finished: September 28th, 2010
Pattern: Dew Drop Cowl by Kelly Kingston
Yarn: Yarn Love 4-ply(ish) handspun, by the intimidatingly clever Donyale
Needles: 5mm Knitpicks Options nickel-plated circular
Modifications: I threw in six rows of double moss-stitch by way of an edging, so it wouldn’t curl quite so much. Then I just went round and round until I was sick of it.

This was my Bendigo knitting – a super-simple project that I could just knit on autopilot while talking and laughing (and drinking) with those wild women at Hustler Street. It was a perfect pattern for the job, and every time I wear it or even look at it, I’ll be reminded of the fun. Not to mention the pretty pretty colours – I could hardly look away while I was knitting it, in case I missed the next colour change. There was nothing about this knit that wasn’t lovely.

Here’s something funny – you might remember a couple of months ago, I said that my original plan was to use up the whole skein of yarn, but I’d since changed my mind, I felt that it was big enough and I was just going to finish out the pattern repeat and knit the edge.

Well, this is how much yarn was left over once I’d done that:

…all four meters of it!

2 Responses to “Snow on Cherry Blossoms, and a Finished Object.”

  1. Leonie October 16, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    We had hail last night but no snow 🙂

    The boys look like they had some fun before the cold set in too 🙂

    Love the cowl. Love love love it. It’s gorgeous and you look gorgeous in it.

    That Donyale is a wonder spinner but you are definitely a wonder knitter!

  2. amy October 16, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    Late snow is just a killer here, but after a whole winter of it that’s understandable! I still get annoyed remembering the year I got snowed in on April 1. It was something like a foot of snow, and the plows didn’t get around to clearing our area until nightfall.

    I have to start thinking about ordering my kids snowboots soon…

Leave a Reply

