Burning Ring of Ducks

18 Oct

I am a Finished Object machine! Here’s another:

There’s something inherently funny about ducks. I don’t know why, but it’s true. Groucho Marx knew it, my Sasquatch knows it: he often dances around the house chanting “I’m dancing like a duck, I’m dancing like a duck”, and once when his brother suggested he may be crazy, he replied with “yeah, crazy like a duck!” (that one just about killed me), and I know it too. Years ago, Tech Support and I were on a long drive, which was getting progressively weirder as we hit more and more kamikaze birdlife. We were starting to have Hitchcock flashbacks, right up until a duck flew into the windscreen – we laughed about that the rest of the drive.

The Vital Statistics:
Cast On: September 1st, 2010
Finished: October 11th, 2010
Pattern: Burning Rings of Fire by Kirsten Kapur (Rav-link)
Yarn: Patonyle 4ply (50g balls), hand-dyed by me: colourway “Wood Duck”
Needles: 2.25mm circular, switch to 1.75mm for heel and toe.
Modifications: Afterthought garter stitch heel instead of standard flap-and-gusset. Garter stitch wedge toe.

This was my Sockdown! September challenge sock for the Sock Knitters Anonymous group on Ravelry.

3 Responses to “Burning Ring of Ducks”

  1. 2paw October 18, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    I always say ‘Ducks in the morning, ducks in the evening, ducks in the summer time’ like Cook and Moore!!
    Your socks are lovely and so beautifully knitted!!

  2. Leonie October 18, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    They are just lovely. Are they for you or Tech Support?

    • kissmyfrog October 18, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

      My dad, actually. A very belated Father’s Day pressie.

Leave a Reply

