What’s in the Workbox? November: Falling off the wagon.

30 Nov

 

Warning: This post may contain actual knitting content. Readers of a sensitive nature are advised to sit down before continuing.

 

I know I said I wanted to get rid of all those old WiPs, but, well, it’s November, and I needed a Christmas gift for Boyo’s teacher. She has taught him for the last three years, and has been an absolute godsend, both for him and for us. He is moving up to Year 5 next year (and don’t think that doesn’t scare the bejeebers out of me!), and I wanted to do something extra special for her, so… enter the Lace Ribbon Scarf, in Mi Inca Baby Alpaca 4ply (light, warm and soft as a dream – I love this yarn! So, of course, they have discontinued it).

Then I was looking in my work-box, and of the four projects on the needles at the moment, three of them were in red. The whole thing was just looking way too monochromatic, dahlings!

So I had to do something in a different colour, didn’t I? Plus, it’s November, and that means Mystery sock goodness in the Sock Knitter’s Anonymous group on Ravelry. And the theme is cables this month, too, so I was doomed from the start…

Anyway, on the left you can see the first two clues, in STR Heavyweight Strange Brew, as modelled by Tech Support and his good firm grip on the ground. There has been a couple of episodes of ripping back on these socks, once the entirety of Clue 1 on both socks, because they were too tight to fit over TS’s heel (as you can see, this time it fits), and once a partial frogging when I misscrossed a cable on clue 3 (it wasn’t that big a deal in the grand scheme of things, but apart from my well-documented crazy anal-retentive control freak issues slight touch of OCD, I wanted them to qualify for the prize drawing.

Because, as it turns out, even when the odds are stacked against you to the tune of 12,000 members in the group, and 409 qualifying finishers, it is possible to win a prize in the SKA Sockdown! knitalong. At this time, I would like to enter the following item into evidence, designated Exihibit A: One skein of Barking Dog Yarns Achilles sock yarn in colourway “Vampira”, courtesy of my new favourite person, Suzan at BDY (and let’s not forget my other BFF, the Random Number Generator). It arrived in yesterday’s mail, and has taken up residence on my desk as my pet skein. Tempted as I am, I have resolved to NOT cast on immediately, but take my time and find a really perfect pattern for this lovely, lovely yarn (as an aside, it smells like flowers).

Anyway, the upshot is, three new cast-ons for this month (as always, the titles link to the Ravelry project page):

  1. Teacher’s Pet Scarf: 12 pattern down, I started the second ball of yarn this morning. This project MUST be finished, blocked, wrapped up pretty and ready for delivery by the last day of school, 15th December.
  2. Strangely Mocking: Clues 1 and 2 finished on both socks, partway through the first iteration of Clue 3. Must be finished by 31st December to qualify for prizes.

The old ones have hardly seen any action:

  1. Aestlight Shawl: Still no progress.
  2. Red Socks: Nothing here, either
  3. Cherries Flambée: Negative progress, as I stuffed up the gusset increases and had to rip back.

And now, it’s back to the red lace salt mines for me.

3 Responses to “What’s in the Workbox? November: Falling off the wagon.”

  1. Rose Red November 30, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    Nothing wrong with lots of red projects! I do love the look of that cabled sock though – wow!

  2. 2paw November 30, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    Love the ribbon scarf, it’s so lovely and I think the cables socks would have easily defeated me!!

  3. Leonie December 2, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    Love the scarf. And that sock is all sorts of awesomeness 🙂

    Currently working on a scarf for the Kinder Assistant who is leaving at the end of the year. It’s taking foreeeeevvveeeerrrrr. I may end up having to post it to her LOL!

Leave a Reply

