Christmas list.

3 Dec

It’s raining again, so I can’t mow the lawn today as is my wont. Instead, I’ll pose you a question.

Tech Support is threatening to buy me a new ‘puter for Chrstmas. This is an excellent thing, as this machine is old and sad and really needs to be put out to pasture (one recent irritant is that the calculator has vanished from my computer. I never realised how often I used it until I lost it).

So my question is, have you any recommendations for the new one? (Mac lovers need not apply. TS is rabidly anti-Apple for reasons we need not go into here. He would buy me a cat before he would buy me an Apple Mac).

Anyway, what do you think? Should I go laptop, desktop, all-in-one? Touchscreen or not? Any applications, programs or games that you love and think I need? Accessories that you can’t live without?

I’m all ears.

On a completely unrelated note, the School Presentation Night is bearing inexorably down on us (can I get a sympathetic shudder? Thank you). Anyway, all week Boyo has been practicing the following (although without the Scottish accent):

You’re welcome for the brainworm.

3 Responses to “Christmas list.”

  1. 2paw December 3, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I don’t really understand computers, they didn’t have them, even when I started teaching (I am sooo old!!) They work in the same magic way an aeroplane does. How do they ever take off???

  2. amy December 3, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    I love my laptop. Our desktop was a dinosaur, and when it was time to upgrade, I wanted a laptop instead. It’s not like I bring it lots of places outside of the house, but INSIDE the house I can use it in the kitchen, on the dining table, downstairs while the kids are playing, on the steps while the girl (used to) nap in the car. You get the idea. And the desktop was so old, this laptop has more whatever-it-is that make them go fast.

  3. Leonie December 9, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Love my Dell, got the widescreen with the backlit keyboard. Get the backlit keyboard, so much easier when typing in lower light, the letters on the keys light up so you can type in a pitch dark room, so coooool! Dell’s can be ordered with exactly what you want on them not sure about other companies. Go and play in a Officewerks or Hardly Normal if you have one near you? (Yes spelling deliberately wrong :-P) and check out the keyboards. Jules can’t stand completely flat keys, he can’t feel the edges properly so he is continually hitting the wrong keys. My lappy has slightly concave keys so you can feel the edges. Different models have different feels. I have a studio 1747 and it is less than 12 months old. We don’t have space for a desktop and despite the slightly higher cost probably wouldn’t go back to one even if we did. Oh and there’s no way I could share a computer with Jules (Mr reformat the hard drive) so we’d have to find space for two. Good luck and have fun playing!

Leave a Reply

