New Year’s… Thingy.

3 Jan

So, here it is 2011 already. I’m at a bit of a loss to account for it, but I am reliably informed that it is so.

I took a look back at my New Years post for last year, and I actually made resolutions. Huh. I don’t usually do that – the sheer pressure of having  “resolved” to do something more or less guarantees that I will fail. I don’t know why. Anyhoo, the tally of last year’s Resolutions stands thusly:

  1. I WILL keep off the weight that I’ve lost (sorry, Tink) shifted this last year, and finish up the job. I’ve plateaued a bit since my birthday, hovering more or less around 72 kg, and I really want to get below that magic 70kg mark. — Ahem. The less said the better, really. A long, wet, bitterly cold winter has taken its toll and I shall be back on the exercise bike with a vengeance this year.
  2. I WILL try harder to stay ahead of The Creeping Grey. I have a tendency to ignore it until there’s a good centimetre or two of regrowth. — More or less successful here. I have got on it every six weeks or so. The biggest problem is that henna is such a big production – four to five hours processing time means that I have to set aside a whole day. I’ve always said that I would keep colouring my hair until I was 50 and then let nature have her wicked way with me, but I think I may have to revise that estimate down. My hair grows so fast, and the grey is right in the front now…
  3. I WILL knit a fair-isle project this year, preferably Updated Old Classic which also has a steek (rhymes with EEK!). — DONE! Maybe not the Updated Old Classic, but Boyo’s Fairisle Gansey means I have officially cut my colourwork teeth. Hah hah! I’m not a total failure!
  4. I WILL keep my desk as tidy as it is today:

Um. Yes. Well. Not so much with the success here.

Can I just point out that this is nowhere near as shambolically bad as it has been during the course of the year?

***

Anyhoo… on to my Not Resolutions.

Yesterday, I recieved an email from the fine folks at WordPress, giving me an overview of the blog’s statistics. It was kind of interesting – here I’d been thinking that I hadn’t blogged much this year, but I wrote 50 posts in 2010 – that’s almost one a week! I just did it in bursts – posting every day for a week or so and then nothing for a month or six weeks. So I’ve decided I’d like to post more regularly this year. Accordingly, I’ve decided to register with WordPress’s Post A Week 2011 challenge. They are working in conjunction with Plinky to deliver inspirational prompts and ideas, to help the topically-challenged to find a soapbox.

The one I’m going to start with is this:

“What’s the single most important thing you accomplished in 2010?”

Tune in tomorrow to find out what it was.

5 Responses to “New Year’s… Thingy.”

  1. Leonie January 3, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    I decided this year not to have resolutions but to have “intents” same thing really but less pressure I suppose, even if it is just me putting it on myself!
    You blogging once a week sounds ace to me 🙂

  2. Kate January 3, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    Happy New Year!!!! Now you’ve done it, I have to blog my ‘intent’ (nice description Leonie!) too…

  3. 2paw January 3, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    I have things I would ‘like’ to do. Sometimes I do them later in the year, like giving up sugar in my tea at home. I am not very good with resolutions.
    You seem very determined and positive, so good luck with your goals for 2011!! Your desk looks so tidy. mine always looks like a bomb has hit it!!
    The PostAWeek sounds fun!!!

  4. amy January 3, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    Oh I don’t give two figs about the grey. The other day I pulled up my hair and the contrast of the ends right next to the grey at top was a little shocking, but I’m curious why the grey hasn’t gotten all the way to the ends, since it’s been grey in the front for, literally, years. But whatever. I won’t use chemicals (still nursing) and I can’t manage the henna (with a toddler) so I just don’t let it bother me. In my head I still look 25–not 26, because that’s when the grey started showing up!!

    Happy 2011!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Let’s try that again, shall we? « Kiss My Frog - January 1, 2012

    […] Remember twelve months ago, when I stated my intention to post at least once a week in 2011? […]

Leave a Reply

