What’s the single most important thing you accomplished in 2010?

4 Jan

As promised, today I am posting the answer to this rather intimidating question.

Why intimidating? Because I am a stay-at-home Mum. I don’t deal in the big “important” stuff. My job is more about the small, the gradual, the incremental: the tying of shoelaces, the brushing of teeth, the daily grind of homework. For that reason alone, I almost skipped this prompt on Plinky. But then I stopped and thought about it. Because my work is damned important! You see, I’m building two people, here. Twenty years from now, my boys are going to be part of the generation lumped with the thankless task of cleaning up our mess. Today’s politicians are too concerned with the next election to ever do anything meaningful about climate change, or globalisation, or over-population, or war, famine, pestilence, death-and-hell-following any of the other Big Bads that we are bequeathing unto them.

Anyway, political rants aside, the single most important thing I did this last year was to coax, cajole and sometimes outright bully Boyo into trying new foods.

Doesn’t sound like much, does it? But twelve months ago, Boyo’s diet consisted pretty much of weet-bix and peanut butter sandwiches. Now he happily eats chicken, pork and fish, and is branching out to include beef as well. He’s still very reluctant on the fruit-and-vegies front, but we will continue to work on that this year.

I don’t have words for how proud I am of him for this. Change is always very hard for him, and this included not only new concepts, but strange tastes, textures and smells.

And suddenly, his skinny little  body is growing! I don’t think he’s ever going to be a big guy – he takes after my side of the family too much for that, and my dad and brothers are none of them huge men – but he’s putting on weight and getting taller. I think it’s a relief to him, too, as all the kids in his class are bigger than him, and his little brother is catching up to him pretty damn quick.

So there you have it. I grew my little weeds a bit bigger this year, and if I have any say in it, one day those little weeds will have an impact in the world, if only a little one. But small impacts can still have great effect. It was tiny taps of a chisel that added up to this:

5 Responses to “What’s the single most important thing you accomplished in 2010?”

  1. 2paw January 4, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    Being a parent is the most important job, and being a mum at home facilitates the growing of the next generation. It’s not for everyone, but if it’s for you, you should be very happy at your achievements in growing things!!

  2. amy January 4, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    I could see where you were going right at the start, and I’m a stay at home mom too (although I dislike that description greatly) and our job IS damned important. We accomplished amazing things in 2010. I don’t care if my job is looked down upon (and here in America, any job that doesn’t make money usually is); I’m proud of all the small things that add up to being an organized, conscientious, involved, creative, loving, hands-on (etc etc etc) mama. And you should be, too.

    • kissmyfrog January 5, 2011 at 7:27 am #

      Oh, don’t worry, the stay-at-home-mum gig is looked down upon here too. Not so much in the rural town where we live now (although since both the boys are well-established at school, people are starting to wonder when I’m going to go back to work), but before, when we lived in Suburbia… My friends considered me eccentric, and one woman actually suggested I was setting back the cause of feminism by staying at home to raise my kids myself rather than working to pay the babysitter. As I understand it, the women who fought so hard were fighting for the right to choose, not to be forced into a different kind of expectation-driven servitude.

  3. Leonie January 5, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    And a very important task it is too. I have to remind myself of that sometimes when it all seems a bit too much. On the easy days we can make light of parenting and how important it is but on the challenging days it’s importance really comes to the fore. Best wishes for the greater expansion of the eating habits of your chicken legged son, despite my best efforts and no matter how much they eat, mine are always going to have chicken legs, it’s genetic LOL!! Not only that you are training them so they are good partners to the women in their life when they are older and that is VERY important too 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Addendum. « Kiss My Frog - January 8, 2011

    […] a follow-up to my post the other day about Boyo and the new food regime – just now we finished dinner. Crispy chicken wraps were on […]

Leave a Reply

