Strangely Mocking Socks

6 Jan

A few days late for the New Years Eve deadline, but here they are:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Vital Statistics

Cast on: November 2nd, 2010
Finished: January 6th, 2011
Pattern: “Twisted Mockery” – Sock Knitters’ Anonymous November Mystery Sock, by Lisa Stichweh (go check it out – it’s FREE!)
Yarn: Socks That Rock Heavyweight “Strange Brew”
Needles: Knitpicks Harmony 3.5mm & 3.0mm
Modifications: Because I was making these for Tech Support and his Sasquatchean clod-hoppers, I used the STR Heavyweight, which is an 8-ply/DK. Thus, the gauge was changed radically, and there was much trying-on-as-you-go to check that everything was fitting correctly. Then, of course, I ran out of yarn (see above re: Sasquatchean), so I took some of that Patonyle 8-ply that T.S. brought home from Wangaratta in August, and threw it through the dye-pot. Ta Da! Contrast toes! With 20% nylon for added strength! If I’d had my wits about me I would have done the heels in the same yarn, but no way was I ripping back again.

Great pattern, gorgeous, sproingy yarn (there’s a reason that STR is a Holy Grail yarn), fun knit-along, happy husband. What more can you ask?

6 Responses to “Strangely Mocking Socks”

  1. 2paw January 6, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    Very nice socks indeed, and I loved the modelling slide show (I almost wrote sideshow!!) Clever toes too.

    • kissmyfrog January 6, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

      The boys and Tech Support are all home on holidays just now, so “Sideshow” is apt. Very apt.

  2. Rose Red January 6, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    wow! they look fabulous! (and my, he does have big feet!!)

    • kissmyfrog January 6, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

      Yes. Yes, he does. Size 12, sometimes 13, depending on the make of shoe. For my sins.

  3. Becky C. January 7, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    Those are so pretty! (ahem….manly)

  4. Leonie January 16, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    They are very pretty socks, shh don’t tell T.S. Lucky you had some extra yarn around for those toes!

    Hey was the gorgeous yarn you sent me Patonyle as well or was it something else. Just wanted to check so I can, you know, check out Rav 🙂

Leave a Reply

