Insert Interesting Title Here.

5 Feb

Well, we have successfully navigated the good ship Frog through the treacherous waters of the First Week of School. I was especially proud of Boyo on Monday: the first day of school is always very difficult for him, but this year he handled it like a pro. Both boys love their new teachers, and I’m confident they will be a good fit.

Tuesday, I took myself off to Orange for a me-day. I went to the movies and saw The Green Hornet. It was both fun and annoying – Jay Chou had all the moves down, and the cars pushed all my latent rev-head buttons, but Seth Rogen (who I usually like) was really irritating, and I’m not entirely sure where they were trying to go with the villain, who started out being quite scary in a Keyser Söze kind of way, but ended up being cartoonish and stupid. Oh, and I saw it in 3D, which was occasionally cool, but mostly distracting.

It has continued hot and humid here, so knitting has been a bit thin on the ground. I have cast on for a new sock – not the re-engineered Firestarters yet, but a sporty-shorty type sock in leftover TOFUtsies.

Otherwise, I have been working on sorting out old and out-grown clothes and toys to send to Queensland. And enjoying the quiet.

4 Responses to “Insert Interesting Title Here.”

  1. 2paw February 5, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    Glad to hear HMAS Back To School had smooth sailing!!! 3D is quite distracting, I keep having to take the glasses off to see what it would look like in 2D!!

  2. amy @ kids in the studio February 5, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    3D is wasted on me. I have no depth perception–I had lazy eye as a kid, and although it was corrected with surgeries at ages two and four, they way missed the window for my brain to learn how to process my eyes working together. The whole world apparently looks 2D for me and I’ve just learned to compensate with context clues (not well enough to excel at ball sports, though). I find this fascinating in a way but do wonder what the world looks like to everybody else!

    My kids keep having snow days–we’re all out of rhythm over here! Glad to hear your adjustment looks like it will go smoothly!

  3. Kate February 5, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    That first line reminded me of a book called The Voyage of the Frog. In a few years your boys might like it – if they like boats.

    No other relevant anecdotes spring to mind. And you have reminded me to go through the kids’ books and toys. There is something inherently wrong about visiting a friend’s blog as part of one’s leisure time and having to add a chore to the to-do list. Although snap decision – I will ask kids to help decide which toys they don’t want anymore. That should be very exciting in oh so many ways.
    ;P

  4. Leonie February 7, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    So glad your school year has started off well. We have survived two days of school so far with Master Zac blowing me away with his cheerfulness at going to school especially after the complete melt down the day before school started. I am aware that the 2-3 week mark is when it starts getting hard for some kids so I’ll keep a weather eye out 🙂 Hoping the weather gets itself under control asap. I’m over Winter weather in Summer, we had a top temp of 13deg here on Sunday, so not right! Two weeks ago we had 40deg for 3 days running, just settle on a temp and stick with it I say!

Leave a Reply

