I have probably given this a little too much thought…

17 Feb

I woke up this morning to an interesting (to me) discussion on the radio. Brook Daniels, the breakfast announcer on our local ABC station, had apparently referred to The Phantom as a superhero (I was asleep for that bit), and a listener had called in to correct her. He said that The Phantom is not a superhero, but an ordinary man who just happens to fight crime while wearing his undies on the outside.

Courtesy of Wikipedia

I have to disagree. Kit Walker, like Bruce Wayne and Tony Stark, is filthy rich (in fact, given that the Walker fortune dates back to the 16th century, he’s probably much, much filthier). I firmly believe that obscene wealth is a superpower – it allows the possessor to do things at which we mere mortals can only stare in disbelief. How else do you explain Paris Hilton?

Any thoughts?

5 Responses to “I have probably given this a little too much thought…”

  1. Leonie February 17, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    You don’t happen to have comic reading children do you? That could be an excuse, otherwise I think it might be a case of too much time on your hands!
    By definition: “Unlike many fictional costumed heroes, the Phantom does not have supernatural powers of any kind, but relies on his strength, intellect and fearsome reputation of being an immortal ghost to defeat his opponents” quote from Wiki, I do believe he is a hero but not a superhero!

    • kissmyfrog February 17, 2011 at 10:35 am #

      Sadly, no. This is the sort of world-shaking stuff that my brain decides to obsess over instead of letting me sleep at night. Not every night, or I would already be in that nice padded cell, just often enough to be bloody annoying.

      And I still reckon that sort of money counts as a superpower.

  2. amy February 17, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Not a comic-loving person myself, but I polled the only boy who’s awake (that’s my husband), and he confirmed Batman is a superhero. Ergo, this Phantom guy must be, too.

  3. Kate February 17, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    My husband is a fan of the Phantom (there is a purple obsession on both sides of our marriage), having many comics and cards, and was once a member of the Leeton Phantoms Rugby Union Team.
    I have to say however that I personally would class the Phantom as a hero but not a superhero, due to the lack of superpowers – and further I would say Batman is also not a superhero, unlike Superman with the whole flying and superstrength etc. Batman uses his obscene wealth (oh to be disgustingly rich – I wouldn’t be calling it ‘obscene’ then, would I??) to create technology-based tools that make him *appear* to be possessed of superhuman powers. Spiderman – well, he has spidey-senses, but also manufactures his suit etc doesn’t he? Is he halfway?
    What about Wolverine? Anytime you mention the Hugh Jackman incarnation I’ll agree to just about anything – but when I’ve finished hyperventilating, I would say that his powers of regeneration are superhuman, but the claws etc were surgically implanted, and therefore a technology.

    As you can see, I too am quite prepared to debate intangible and ultimately kind-of-pointless issues to an extraordinary degree…

  4. Kate February 17, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    Um also, can I say that the only explanation for Paris Hilton is ‘obscenely rich brat who suffered from a lack of firm and loving parenting as a child and teenager’. Anything else she (or the media) does is inexplicable.

Leave a Reply

