Eleven things about Boyo.

26 Feb

1. Today, my Boyo is eleven years old. 

2. He is very bright and very inquisitive.

3. He loves maths, music, origami and Lego.

4. He loves to read and is the best speller in his class.

5. His grandparents gave him a CSI Detective kit for his birthday.

6. He immediately put the yellow “DO NOT CROSS” tape across his bedroom door.

7. Yesterday, he swam in two races in the District Swimming Carnival.

8. Next week, he goes on a school camping trip. It will be his first time camping. I am more anxious about this than he is.

9. His birthday dinner consisted of sausage rolls, chocolate mudcake and ice-cream spiders.

10. At bedtime, he was so wired that I threatened to eat all the rest of his birthday cake if he didn’t calm down.

11. The threat worked, and he is now asleep. Thank god, because I need 3/4 of a mudcake like I need a third buttock.

*

Happy birthday, my beautiful, amazing, extraordinary boy.

6 Responses to “Eleven things about Boyo.”

  1. 2paw February 26, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    Happy Eleventh Birthday Boyo. I think that’s an excellent use for the CSI tape!!! He will have a great time on his camp.
    Greater love hath no mother than to eat enough cake for another buttock, to ensure he son can get to sleep!!

  2. RoseRed February 27, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    Happy birthday Boyo! love the lego creation.

  3. Kate February 27, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    Ok, talk about synchronicity – the first three posts in my feed-reader today mentioned Lego, and for the past week or two I’ve been listening to the audiobook Lego. Maybe it’s a sign that I should be building cool technics stuff…
    Also, happy birthday to the Boyo.
    Lastly, found your comment on the Yarn Harlot’s blog post about snow days. That must be the statistical equivalent of finding a diamond in the vege patch!!!

    • kissmyfrog February 27, 2011 at 9:22 am #

      Or maybe it’s a sign that you should be knitting this.

      And that was the first time I’ve ever commented on the Harlot’s blog, so it’s more like finding the entire Kimberley diamond mine in your veggie patch! I only bothered because there were five comments at the time (and, amazingly, none of them were “OMG I’m first!”), and because the subject matter truly warranted it. So much for the PNW’s reputation of being full of hardy lumberjack types!

  4. amy @ kids in the studio February 27, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    Happy Birthday! I’m still trying to work my brain around the fact that my oldest will be ten this year (and that I’ve been pregnant and/or breastfeeding for most of the last decade–I had a 7-month break between weaning the second and getting pregnant with the third).

    Ha! There will be Lego pictures in my next post, too–began working on it before I saw yours and Bells. 😉 Legos rule!

  5. Leonie Tewierik March 16, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    Happy Birthday to Boyo hope he had a wonderful day and has come down nicely, although I suspect seeing his Mum shave her hair would have been a real high.

    How did camp go?

Leave a Reply

