What’s in the Workbox? February: Plugging along.

28 Feb

So, nothing finished this month, but some nice progress. As always, lots of Rav-links.

  1. Red Socks: Move along. Nothing to see here.
  2. Clapotis: Coming along nicely, about 11 repeats into the straight section. Yes, I know the original pattern calls for only twelve repeats, but it also calls for aran-weight yarn, and I’m not doing that either. I’m going for a longer, skinnier scarf than the Rule of Fifths allows for – more the Rule of Tenths. 
  3. Imogen cardi: Also seeing some progress: I finished the back-and-sleeves section about a week ago, I just need a couple of hours peace and quiet with a well-lit flat suface so I can seam the sleeves and then I can pick up the stitches for the fronts/collar section (if you’re not not familiar with the Imogen pattern it has some fairly interesting architecture). Hopefully that will happen in the next day or so, and then I can get moving again. It’s one of those patterns that grow really quite quickly, provided you actually knit on them. Come to think of it, that description would apply to pretty much any knitting pattern, wouldn’t it? Hmmmm. Forget I said anything.

And one new cast-on for the month. I only started this’un yesterday:

  1. A Hat For Pat: Pat is a friend of Tech Support’s. He wants an ear-flap hat in Parramatta Eels Rugby League Club colours, with “PARRA” emblazoned across the front, and tassels. Thus far, I have half an ear-flap. And the batteries just carked it in my camera while I was taking pics of the Clapotis, so I can’t even show you.

And that’s it for the month. February is always a bit thin on the ground, knitting-wise, between the busy-busy-busy of getting the critters back to school, and everything that goes with that, and then there’s the heat… Which reminds me – one day a few weeks ago knitting the Imogen was becoming really unpleasant, but not knitting it was making me twitchy, and then I had a lightbulb! I have one of those breakfast tray thingies that sit over your lap on legs, and I piled the bulk of the cardi on that, which allowed the air to circulate over my legs and kept me from overheating! Brilliant, no? I’m sure I’m not the first to think of this, but by damn I felt smug about it!

4 Responses to “What’s in the Workbox? February: Plugging along.”

  1. 2paw February 28, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Your Clapotis looks lovely, I made a scarf using the same pattern. The Cardi certainly needs a lot of concentration, it is unusual.
    That’s clever and cool idea!!! There’s nothing worse than being under a lot of knitting when it is hot!!!

  2. Kate March 2, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    Yay for knitting – but you know, down here it’s almost NEVER hot enough to make knitting unpleasant – why today I noticed the maple-tree-like-tree in my neighbours yard has gone from charming red leaves to NAKED in two days!! And this the second day of autumn!!!
    ps you have to bring Imogen to Bendi. You know I want to try it on 🙂

    • kissmyfrog March 2, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

      You know what? Shut up. I already know that Tassie is a knitter’s paradise. you don’t need to rub it in. ;P

      And yes, Imogen is coming to Bendi. As will the Ingenue I plan on knitting next (out of the Posmerino I dyed up in the Blackberry Jam colourway). If you play your cards right, you can try them both on.

  3. Leonie Tewierik March 16, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    Well the red socks look interesting!
    The Imogen cardi looks even better!
    Can’t wait to see the progress this month 🙂

Leave a Reply

