Thoughts on being a skinhead.

19 Mar

I am LOVING my new ‘do! It’s so quick and easy – shower, towel-dry, done! But the truly fun part of this week has been people’s reactions – I’ve seen more double-takes than a Three Stooges movie! On Thursday, one of the teachers at school, who I have known for 4 years and count a friend, walked right past me TWICE before she recognised me! People keep asking me if my head is cold, but it’s been really warm and humid all week, so I’m feeling no pain at all. I know that that will change soon, but I have one hat on the needles, and another in the planning stages.

The one on the needles is a Rikke hat (Rav-link) in a recycled sari silk yarn. I had originally thought about using the silk for a Quincy (Rav again), I even bought and printed out the pattern, and then I broke out the swift and  ball-winder. Two turns of the handle later, I realised I was going to have to wind this puppy by hand, as the skein was snagging on itself, and quite tangled.

Hand-winding gives one plenty of time to consider a yarn and its fitness for a pattern. The yarn in question is really slubby and hairy, thick in some places and thinner in others; in short, a yarn with a whole lot of “character”. Quincy wants a smoother, rounder yarn, one that will really show off the garter stitch. So, back to Ravelry! The Rikke, I think, is a much better fit for this yarn, being a baggy, casual, slightly silly kind of hat. The Quincy will be the very next cab off the rank, as soon as I stash dive a more appropriate yarn.

In other news, the Imogen Cardi is off the needles! It’s blocking as I type this, and someday, it may even be dry enough to wear. I know, I know, wet blocking is a bad idea when there’s three or four rainy days each week, but it’s my default setting, and it gives a much better result, in my not-so-humble opinion. At any rate, I hope to have a FO post for you before the end of the month.

4 Responses to “Thoughts on being a skinhead.”

  1. 2paw March 19, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    Good news that your new look is still growing on you!! So to speak. It has been humid here too, I keep asking people “Is it hot in here?” in case I am the only one feeling hot and I have a fever!! Everyone is hot.
    I quite like winding wool and I also don’t mind unravelling knots, it’s quite therapeutic.
    Oh, looking forward to your cardigan’s appearance.

  2. Lynne March 19, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    I always wet-block; I love the look. I think your decision not to make Quincy with the sari silk is a good one; how’s the Rikke going?

  3. Kate March 20, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    Hey there Lambkin! (D’you like my clever reference to your shornedness???) I think the Rikke is a good choice – I’m looking forward to seeing how it turns out! But first we need some pics of that Imogen creature = can’t wait to see what it looks like!!
    :>

  4. Leonie Tewierik March 20, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Short hair is good like that, super quick to sort out, maybe you won’t let it grow long again at all 🙂
    I have some Sari silk like that, still not sure what I’ll do with it, mine feels “hard” due to the tight twist I’d like to know how yours knits up.
    And where are our pictures of Imogen, we’d all like to see her 🙂

Leave a Reply

