My husband has been abducted by aliens.

26 Mar

As I’ve mentioned a time or two, Tech Support has a long and dearly-held dislike of all things Apple. He doesn’t like their products, he doesn’t like their business model, and he really doesn’t like the cult-like atmosphere that surrounds the release of every new product they bring out.

I do not have an iPod, I have a Samsung T-10 MP3 player. When we bought my new computer last Christmas, there was never any question that we would go PC rather than Mac. A few months ago, when I joked that I was thinking of buying an iPhone because of all the cool knitting apps you could get, he made a very rude noise indeed. So when we went down to the Telstra shop today to update our expired mobile phone plans, I certainly had no inkling that I would come home with this:

I wasn’t even expecting to get a new phone – I was quite content with the hand-me-down HTC I had. I was just thinking I’d get a data allowance added to my plan so I could check email and stuff while I was out and about. Next thing I know, T.S. is assuring me that I will love all the games and apps, and I’m thinking “Who the hell are you and what have you done with my husband?”

Long story short, I have a shiny new iPhone with a purple cover and Steve Jobs has a foot in the door of our house. Who’d a thunk it?

4 Responses to “My husband has been abducted by aliens.”

  1. Lynne March 26, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    Enjoy! (He must love you a lot.)

  2. 2paw March 26, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    Drip, drip, drip: it’s the slow tiny drips of Apple that slowly wear you away. Resistance is useless!!

  3. Kate March 27, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    PURPLE IPHONE???? ::swoon::

    I am just waiting on the right moment to make a foray into the shop and get me one…but that would mean changing my service provider (again) and it’s all too hard….

  4. Leonie Tewierik March 27, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Purple iPhone huh? You have gone to the dark side! Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

