I guess I’m not mowing the lawn today.

12 May

File under: Weird weather.

We’ve lived here in the Central West for over eight years now, and I think I can say with reasonable authority that this is unseasonably early snow. Normally, we get one or two falls a year, in late July or August.

Last week was glorious sunshine and brisk breezes with tempartures in the low-to-mid twenties, we hit 18*C on Tuesday, yesterday was a top of 4*, and today it’s snowing. Oh, well, at least the snow means plenty of light – yesterday was grey, rainy cold.

I don’t have to be anywhere today, so my plan is to make mushroom soup and watch Bleak House on DVD, while knitting on my purple Ingenue. How’s your day looking?

4 Responses to “I guess I’m not mowing the lawn today.”

  1. Lynne May 12, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    At home, nursing a heavy cold, instead of at work, teaching eighteen adults (of non-English speaking backgrounds)how to read and write in English.

    Blog reading and commenting

    Some television catching up after our week away (with knitting)

    That about sums it up! At least the sun is shining here today; yesterday was bleak and cold, cold, cold.

  2. Kate May 12, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    And to think Hobart was moaning about OUR cold temperatures!!! One of the many reasons we moved here is the more temperate climate than commonly found in rural NSW…

    Enjoy your Ingenue! I’m looking forward to more sleeving on my Rosamund this evening…

  3. Leonie May 14, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    Nope, no mowing there, just snowing!
    Should have done mine a week a go but missed my chance, now the leaves are all sloppy and wet and won’t mulch using the mower, bugger.

    Hope the week warmed up for you and that you’ve managed your mowing, and if not, then some knitting!

    • kissmyfrog May 14, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

      Still very soggy underfoot, so no mowing yet, and it hasn’t warmed up noticeably; in fact, I have the sneaky suspicion that it’s not going to. It was 3*C in Orange at 9 o’clock this morning (they have one of those signs on the side of the road, telling you the time and temp). I think we may have skipped autumn altogether and jumped straight into winter. Oh, well, the hand-knits are finally getting some wear. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

