Whose Idea Was This Motherhood Lurk, Anyway?

8 Jul

So here we are at the halfway point of the school holidays, it’s been raining and blowing an icy gale for days, and the House of Frog has been the House of Flu for almost a month. Sasquatch brought it home from school and promptly gave it to me. We spent the better part of a week sitting side by side on the couch, coughing a duet and watching endless hours of cartoons (well, he watched; I snoozed). Of course, he bounced back much quicker than I did, but Wednesday last week I had just brought home a much-needed load of groceries, and was putting the frozen food away when the school called to say that Boyo had thrown up (he’s a puker – his first response to any illness is to yurk up the soles of his feet). So he was off school the last two days of term, much to his disgust – not only was he missing out on two days’ worth of maths, but they were having a class reward of a movie-and-games day on Thursday, and he missed that too.

Now that Boyo is finally starting to come good (which means he’s feeling well enough to pick fights with his brother), Tech Support has come down with a bad case of Inevitability (his own fault – he was bragging that everybody else at work had gone down, but he seemed to have dodged it. Why didn’t he just wear a t-shirt saying “KICK ME, MURPHY, KICK ME HARD”?), and has spent the last few nights alternating between coughing, moaning in his sleep, and sneeze-splosions.

I was a bit worried that I might have to cancel my Bendigo trip, but T.S. insists I go, so I have been washing woollies ready for packing. Knitting has been a bit thin on the ground, because although I have spent a good deal of time on the couch, I have yet to learn to knit in my sleep, and I’ve been practically narcoleptic until this week. Nonetheless, I’ve managed to finish the body of my Ingenue (rav-link), and have got the sleeves to elbow length, so I just need to knit two half-sleeves by Sunday at the latest if I’m going to have time to block it before I leave.

Anyway, if I’m going to have any hope at all of getting that done, I need to get knitting. I just wanted you all to know I’m not dead.

8 Responses to “Whose Idea Was This Motherhood Lurk, Anyway?”

  1. Lynne July 8, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    Ooo, yuk!

    I hope you are all feeling much better very soon – have a wonderful time in Bendigo.

  2. Kate July 9, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Oh how I laughed – TS was indeed just begging the universe to whack him with it! I am in possession of a son with a huge, flowing cold, and youngest daughter has woken up with a cheerful sniffle. Hubby already had it, middle child has not yet shown signs, and I plan to stay right out of this horrible weather because I have NO intention of catching this cold before I go to Bendi!!!!

    • Leonie July 10, 2011 at 8:44 am #

      Vitamin C, echinacea and whatever other preventative you can come across, including no late nights. You MUST be at Bendigo too! Also don’t let the sickies Sneeze on you, ever!

  3. Leonie July 10, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    No No No!!! You MUST be at Bendigo. Wonderful TS for manning up and agreeing with me. Get knitting woman, you can continue your recovery with us 🙂 But seriously: Drive safely!

    • kissmyfrog July 10, 2011 at 9:51 am #

      I’m fine, I just have a sympathy cough: whenever Boyo and T.S. start up, I wind up coughing too, just because the sound makes my chest hurt. T.S. is doing much better today – he went to bed yesterday about 3 o’clock for a nanna-nap, and ended up sleeping right through until six this morning!

      I solemnly swear to drive safely: my car has new tyres and a clean bill of health from the mechanic. I’m also coming down a day early, as I think I already mentioned, so I can get a good night’s sleep and work out all the driving kinks before the gates open on Friday.

      See you in a few days!

      • kissmyfrog July 10, 2011 at 10:05 am #

        Ingenue update: I got the first sleeve finished on Friday night, and last night I knit all the stocking stitch part of Sleeve the Second while watching Hellboy. This morning I just have to work the patterned cuff and weave in all the ends. I’ll steam block it this afternoon, and it’ll be done! Woohoo!

  4. Leonie July 10, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    Oh and we did that month of snot and snivelling with 3 of us and then somehow Zac missed it but then Jules came down with what we called “Train Flu”. He didn’t have the bug we had he got the commuter version. The fact that he had one delirious day in bed and was fine the next sucked, we were all wiped out for the better part of 3 weeks each.

  5. 2paw July 11, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    TS must surely know you never laugh in the face of a Lurgy?? You poor thing, a house of illness. I hope all your knitting is completed and you can have a wonderful holiday at The Bendigo!!

Leave a Reply

