Beautiful Bendigo

26 Jul

It’s more than a week since I got home, so I should probably post something, yeah?

I arrived a day early, to get a good night’s sleep before the festivities began, and so I could get to the show nice and early and bogart all the Noro Silk Garden before anybody else got there. After checking in to my motel, I went out for a wander with my camera.

There’s just something about a Gold Rush town.

I suppose when you are the civic authorities of such a town, and all your inhabitants are either actively digging gold out of the ground, or dedicated to the proposition of fleecing those who are, you have plenty of taxes to spend on public buildings.

 Add to that it’s the Victorian period, the era that restraint forgot, and you get a big-arse Court House:

And an even bigger Post Office:

And of course, no boom-town is complete without a statue of Victoria herself, “Queen of Earthly Queens”:

After two hours of wandering (while mentally keeping tabs on where I was in relation to my car) I was completely wiped, so I bought some take-away soup and a loaf of most excellent sourdough from The Good Loaf bakery (they totally earned a plug), and wended my weary way back to the motel.

 On Friday, I got to the Showgrounds bright and early. Shortly after, my Noro mission accomplished, I met up with Leonie (Dr Bones) and Kate (Knightly Knitter) and we hit the show hard.

This is the point at which the wool fumes overcame me, after which I didn’t take many more pics, and what I did get were blurry and awful, so if you want to see more of the show, you should go here and here. Friday night was the Ravelry dinner at the Old Town Hall. Lots of lovely Ravellers to catch up with, good food, and prizes! Then back to our little house at Hustler Street with the rest of the Posse (Donyale, Tinkingbell and Zephyrama, Rav-links all) where we knitted and talked long into the night.

Saturday was more of the same, with a leisurely breakfast at Posse HQ, followed by the show again, where I picked up a skein of handspun Corriedale in “Purple People Eater” (purple and green). I wasn’t going to buy it, but it just sang to me, and really, it’s not Bendi if you don’t have at least one impulse buy, is it? After lunch, Kate, Leonie and I headed back to the house where we parked ourselves on the back deck for knitting and Cointreau-soaked chocolate brownies (Kate’s idea – she truly is an evil genius!). With a little help from Leonie’s swift and ball-winder, my corriedale was on the needles quick smart, and by the time we got to the pub for dinner that night, it was half a hat already!

Sunday morning was the now-traditional brunch at t’Hooft, which has had a bit of a re-do since last year – they’ve added an indoor caravan where baristas perform their feats of awesomeness,

…and this magnificent beastie, which had us all (even the tea-drinkers) mesmerised while we waited to settle the bill:

Then there was just time for one quick piccie of us all together, before we had to head for home.

Back row, L-R: Me, Dr Bones, Donyale, Tinkingbell, LibraryLass; Front row: Zephyrama, Knightly Knitter, Betsy Bookworm.

 

 

8 Responses to “Beautiful Bendigo”

  1. Lynne July 26, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Looks like you had a better-than-wonderful time. It also looks like you had much better weather than we did in 2008 (my only visit) – we had rain and more rain!

    And I want to thank you for that last photo – it’s really good to put a face to some of the people behind the blogs I regularly read!

  2. knightlyknitter July 26, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    Famous!! we iz famous!!!
    Truly it was a fab weekend, and much fun. I must have been mesmerised by whatever I was looking at in Ixchel’s stall – I’m sure I don’t remember you taking that photo!! Actually, looking at it again, I was probably busy taking photos myself!!!

    • kissmyfrog July 27, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

      Yep, you were taking rainbow piccies. I didn’t want to interrupt the artistic process, so I just snapped the photo.

  3. RoseRed July 26, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    I haven’t seen many photos from Bendi, so nice to see these! And yes, you definitely are allowed at least one impulse purchase!

    • kissmyfrog July 27, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      I’ve noticed myself that there’s been a severe shortage of Bendi pics on Flickr. But there’s a few good ones in the Ravelry Baa forum on Rav, starting with post 181.

      I was so disciplined this year, you wouldn’t believe it! I bought NO sock yarn. At all. Not even a little bit!

  4. 2paw July 26, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    Wow, there is such an awful lot of wool!! Our PO looks like that!! Glad you had such a wonderful time with your friends!!

  5. Leonie July 27, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Hey chick cool photos! It was a grand old time we had wasn’t it? The other lovely lass in the last photo is Librarylass (Rav name). Sad really even though it’s only 11 days since we got home I want to go again!

    • kissmyfrog July 27, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

      You know, I think this year was the best Bendi yet. It was just so much more laid-back and cruisey than previous years.

      Thanks for the name – fixing that now.

      358 sleeps ’til next year.

Leave a Reply

