Did I mention there’s Noro?

28 Jul

Mission accomplished.

The other day, in my Bendi post, I made mention of a Noro mission.

A few weeks ago, when the new issue of Knitty came out, I fell hard for this hooded cardigan. It called for Noro Silk Garden, a yarn I’ve long wanted to knit with, but never known quite what to do with. And I was just a couple of weeks away from Bendi, where there would be several vendors selling Noro – it was kismet!

Photo by Lisa Kay

Once I got my haul home, I got started. This is a first for me – I don’t think I have ever in my life knitted a pattern in the recommended yarn, even back in the day when all I knew was Patons and Cleckheaton. Even weirder, I’m using the same colourways as the designer used for her version – a blue/green/purple and a pink/orange/bronze. And why not? It’s a beautiful thing.

This pattern is so beautifully simple – a two-row stripe that really lets the long slow colour shift of the Noro shine. I’ve almost finished the back of mine; here’s how it’s knitting up:

Happiness.

5 Responses to “Did I mention there’s Noro?”

  1. Lynne July 28, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    That is a lovely pattern and I’m glad you were able to find the exact colours you wanted.

  2. 2paw July 28, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

    I can’t believe how lucky you were to get the exact colours!! I never knit anything in the recommended wool, I have champagne tastes on a beer budget!! It is looking quite fabulous.

  3. RoseRed July 29, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    I kinda love knitting patterns using the recommended yarn! I don’t think I’ve ever had a failure when I’ve done that! And stripes! I really think stripes are the absolute best use of Noro yarn!

  4. Leonie July 29, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    You did indeed mention the Noro and now it is looking fabulous as well!
    Have a fabbo weekend M’dear, knit on 🙂

  5. knightlyknitter August 8, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    oh my goodness gracious me! About to have a Norogasm right here at the table…..!! You are SO LUCKY that I will be TOO FAR AWAY to come and forcibly remove the NORO GOODNESS from your grasp!!

    PS Guess what I finished???

Leave a Reply

