How I know spring is on the way.

19 Aug

1. The peach tree is budding.

2. The daffodils are sprouting.

3. The wattle is blooming.

4. Yesterday I woke up feeling like someone had marinated my eyeballs in napalm and then cooked them a la flambé (and trust me, you do NOT want to see a pic of that. Ever).

5. I want to eat salad all the time. This happens about this time every year. After a long winter of soups stews and casseroles (all of which I love), I suddenly want leafy greens and crispy veg. Today for lunch it was roasted pumpkin and red onion with spinach, feta and pine nuts.

And it was delicious!

 

6 Responses to “How I know spring is on the way.”

  1. 2paw August 19, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Spring has pretty much sprung here too, I have been eating salad, and there is blossom, there are daffs but no seared eyeballs as yet. Hope you are feeling better tomorrow!!

  2. amy August 19, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    I’ve been sneezing and stuffy all summer long–whatever it is that’s doing it, it hasn’t gone away. I hope your seared eyeballs don’t last quite as long!

  3. Lynne August 20, 2011 at 1:21 am #

    Yes, spring is definitely on the way but the weather yesterday proved that winter hasn’t left yet!

    Salad for lunch? We had home-made cheese and herb scones; and for dinner – Irish Stew! Too cold for me to eat salad (except with something hot – like bacon and egg pie)!

  4. Kgirlknits August 20, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    Oh you poor thing – allergies are the pits! Your salad looks delish though!!

    • kissmyfrog August 22, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

      Antihistamines make everything better, and I’m such a lightweight that one 24-hour tablet does me for two days – three if it rains!

  5. Kate September 11, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    My sympathies! But you know what? You should come and visit me in Hong Kong. No pollen. None. I’m not sure if I have sneezed even *once* since arriving – even walking past flower shops!
    Happy salad days to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

