What I Did On My Holidays, and After.

29 Oct

Once again, I have been guilty of shameful blog-neglect. It’s over two months since I last posted! So, here’s what’s been happening while I was away:

  • A lengthy period of Groundhog Day – you know how that goes; washing, cooking, cleaning, not-killing-the-children, yada yada yada…
  • Then there was huge and epic spring cleaning, which resulted in the most beautifully tidy house for two entire weeks.
  • Then there was school holidays, during which it rained almost non-stop, and I had to pack suitcases for… (wait for it)…
  • Actual honest-to-God holidays, when we dropped the boys off with their grandparents, and Tech Support and I went to Brisbane for TEN WHOLE DAYS! I took my ‘puter along, fully intending to blog, but I forgot the power cable, and once the battery ran down, that was the end of my most excellent plans. So instead of blogging, I read books, and knitted socks, and took long walks around the city with T.S., visiting the Botanic Gardens, and sitting in little sidewalk cafes, drinking coffee and watching the world go by. While I was there, the Quilt and Craft show was on, so I did a half-day there, and bought a ball of Crazy Zauberball sock yarn, and a quilted bag kit. Then it was time to pick up the boys and head home.
  • This week, I have been working my way through the post-holiday mountain of washing and sewing like a mad woman. Yesterday was the school’s annual Book Parade (I love that they do it at this time of year – it gets me off the Halloween hook), so I had to produce costumes. Boyo has recently fallen frantically in love with Emily Rodda’s Deltora Quest books, so it was a no-brainer that he would want to be Lief of Del, but Sasquatch dithered for ages before he decided that he would be Sam-I-Am from Green Eggs and Ham.

I have been working on this post all afternoon, and every time I try to add pics or links, WordPress craps itself. So here’s one last attempt at piccy goodness.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 Responses to “What I Did On My Holidays, and After.”

  1. Lynne October 29, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    Welcome back! I love the slide show. Sounds like you had a perfect “real” holiday.

    • kissmyfrog October 31, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

      It was lovely to be just the two of us for a while, but by about Day Eight, we were ready to come home and be Mum and Dad again. Are we sad or what?

  2. amy October 30, 2011 at 1:57 am #

    Fabulous for you! What a great holiday. And I love those costumes.

    Kudos on the house, too. I can’t manage to keep mine tidy for more than five minutes. As soon as a kid moves, it’s over.

    • kissmyfrog October 31, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      Oh, it only stayed tidy even that long through threats of ghastly consequences (such as the removal of all technology higher than rocks – that got their attention, I can tell you!). And after a full week of sewing and crafting, it’s all gone to crap again. But for that brief time, it was lovely. Ah, well, we’ll always have Paris.

  3. 2paw November 2, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Love the slide show!! Fabulous costumes, great wool, nice pattern, Jim Butcher is very good.
    How fabulous to have a holiday with the TS, it sounds like lots of fun, relaxing and time off!!! If only there wasn’t the post holiday washing!!!

  4. knightlyknitter November 7, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    Fantastic costumes!! My second day at work was Book Week Assembly – I drew two dogs and stuck them on my skirt to be Mrs Pockets. Let off lightly due to my newness. Your boys however have an awesome mum who makes really cool stuff!
    love the Zauberball too – very rainbow 🙂

  5. Leonie November 13, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Arghhh WordPress ate my comment. Hmmm, it was something about great costumes and awesome holiday and crazy Zauberball, for the rest you’ll have to ask WordPress….

    • kissmyfrog November 13, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

      Yeah, WordPress is being really temperamental. Don’t know what’s up with that; I picked WP for my blogging platform because it’s so idiot-proof that I can navigate it even without benefit of caffeine, but just lately, yeesh! Your original comment has well and truly vanished into the aether, it’s not even in my spam-thingy. Weird.

      And thanks! A gorgeous time was had, and I’ve almost caught up on all the washing (in my defence, it’s been raining a whole lot since we got back).

Leave a Reply

