Let’s try that again, shall we?

1 Jan

Remember twelve months ago, when I stated my intention to post at least once a week in 2011?

Yeah, I know. Not my best work. According to the annual round-up that landed in my inbox this morning, I wrote 40 posts in 2011, and only 5 in the last six months. That’s what the kids these days might call an epic fail.

So I’m going to try again. Even if it’s just a weekly update on what I’m knitting, I WILL post at least once a week this year.

To catch you up with what’s been happening since the last time I posted, there’s been the usual frantic pace of Term 4; between swimming lessons, volunteering in the school canteen, Boyo’s 4-day school camp at Narrabeen, four assemblies, two class parties, a Christmas stall and a school dance, I feel like my feet hardly hit the ground in November-December. Then once school broke up there was the inevitable rush of Christmas prep, made more interesting by the fact of Tech Support being diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes, so we are in the process of completely overhauling our diet and lifestyle. He is slowly feeling better as he adjusts to his meds and a whole new way of thinking about food and his body. He has another two weeks of annual leave before he goes back to work, so we are working on various coping strategies – healthy snacks that he can have on hand, packed lunches, an insulated water-bottle.

Christmas was lovely, just the four of us at home. Lego brought us a Christmas miracle – three hours of absolute silence as the boys worked on their new acquisitions. It was bliss! There was a time I used to think Lego was overpriced, but now I tell you it is worth EVERY SINGLE PENNY!!!

Finally, I’ll leave you with this song. It pops into my head now and then, and I love it, because it’s about taking joy in the little things.

5 Responses to “Let’s try that again, shall we?”

  1. Lynne January 1, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    Best wishes to you all as you adjust to your new food and lifestyle. May 2012 be all you want and more.

  2. amy January 2, 2012 at 2:19 am #

    I do miss your posts so I selfishly hope you stick to your goal this year!! Good luck with the eating adjustment, we’ve overhauled everything here and once it gets to be habit it really is easier, and worth it all, for health.

  3. kgirlknits January 2, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    here’s to a healthy and happy 2012 for you.

    and good luck with your blog goal – I hope you achieve it, cos I like reading your news 🙂

    (and love that song – haven’t heard that before? I’ll be seeing Colin Hay live in Feb, at the Riverboat festival, so this was a nice taste!)

  4. Leonie January 2, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Sounds like you’ve had a bit of a challenge there with Tech Support, hope it is all settling down now. Ah the joys of a LEGO Christmas, we’ve scored with a new Where’s Wally? book this morning that has kept 2 kids out of our hair for a good 2 hours. Christmas day we lost H to The Secret Seven books-he’s churning through them at high speed! Z was engrossed in Mighty Beanz (toy-new fad at school) and T was using his popcorn maker and then eating and eating and eating the results! Hope you get to enjoy the rest of the holidays. We are heading off camping for two weeks next Saturday and can’t wait.

  5. knightlyknitter January 2, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    Happy New Year my dear, to you and yours!! I hope you do manage to wrest more time out of your week to spend with us, and I will surely try to do the same!!

Leave a Reply

