All Thumbs

2 Jan

Last night, I nicked the pad of my left thumb while chopping veg for dinner. Nothing life-threatening, but it bled, so I put a band-aid on it.
It turns out, I use my left thumb more than I realise. Right away, I noticed how much more difficult it was to slice the onions with the bulky band-aid in the way. Then after dinner I picked up my knitting. Guess what? When I purl, I push the needle back out of the new stitch with the tip of my left thumb. A band-aid really gets in the way of that. So I yanked the band-aid off and threw it across the room in a fit of temper. Bad idea. The cut is in exactly the spot where the lovely pointy nickel tip of my Knitpicks needle hits when I do that pushing manoeuvre, which took it from merely awkward to actively painful.
So a new band-aid was applied, and I struggled on.
What a pain in the thumb.

(And yes, I wrote this whole post just to make that joke. But I really did cut my thumb).

20120102-124439.jpg

12 Responses to “All Thumbs”

  1. Leonie January 2, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    Ouch and Bugger! I keep sticking a hole in the pad of my right index finger with my needles, it hurts heaps and is really annoying coz I keep sticking needles into it after that as well. What is the knitting? I know I should know, it’s the heat you see, it’s sucking up all my brain power (NOT) LOL!

    • kissmyfrog January 2, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

      It’s the Noro I bought at Bendi this year, almost an Undercurrent hoodie. I’m working on the button-band up the fronts and around the hood, 470 stitches in 2×2 rib. Then it’s just four seams and eight buttons, and I be done! I’ll be glad, because sitting there with a lapful of Noro is NOT FUN in this weather!

  2. knightlyknitter January 2, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

    I KNEW that was the Noro! Ha! And when it is done you can send it to me to look after because it is waaay to hot where you are to have any fun with it, whereas I am in the northern hemisphere and would love to show it a good time, heh heh heh 🙂

  3. knightlyknitter January 2, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    Ps hope your thumb feels better soon. What about those kitchen shapes packets of bandaids – surely there’s something in there that would minimise bulk but still protect your diligent digit?

    • kissmyfrog January 3, 2012 at 9:22 am #

      I didn’t realise until just now how much I’ve missed blogging!

      And just for the record? You’re silly!

  4. amy January 2, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

    Right now I have a bandaid on my right forefinger, which was positioned just right to get the needle slighly gummy last night. But it’s either that or bleed on the yarn, so… And that spot on the pad of my right forefinger where the needle pokes never fully heals, either. The pain we go through for our knitting. 🙂

    • kissmyfrog January 3, 2012 at 9:25 am #

      Interesting that even injured, none of us even considered not knitting. Hmmm…

  5. RoseRed January 3, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    Ah, a cut digit. Just the sort of injury that only really gets sympathy from other knitters! And now I’m trying to work out how I purl…I mostly do stocking stitch in the round or garter stitch these days!

    • kissmyfrog January 5, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

      Yes, it’s funny how you don’t realise these things until it hurts to do it. A couple of years ago I was teaching knitting to a group of kids at my boys’ school, and I broke down the movements so slowly, so they could see how it was done, but I still didn’t realise that I did the pushing thing until this.

  6. 2paw January 4, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    I feel you knitting pain, and it is a pain when you are knittingly incapacitated. Love the knitting.

  7. Lynne January 4, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    Oh dear! I’m left-handed so it would be a big nuisance but then, I would have been holding the knife in my left hand, wouldn’t I? I think I do the same thing with my index finger when I’m knitting! I hope your thumb heals quickly!

    • kissmyfrog January 5, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

      Yes, I push with my index finger for knit, and with my thumb for purl. It’s all better now; it was a nice clean cut and healed in a couple of days. The knitting continues slowly more because of the heat than anything else. I’ve got one more row of button band and then the cast-off, and then I need to get a smaller project on the needles, I think – something that doesn’t pile up in my lap!

Leave a Reply

