The Cleverness of my Mother, part 1.

9 Jan

Back in the September school holidays, my parents came a-visiting. They live 800 kms away, so we only see them two or three times a year, which makes any visit from them something of a red-letter day. This particular visit, however, was especially special, because they brought with them a long-awaited article – our wedding quilt.

This quilt has been going in fits and starts since 1989, when Tech Support and I were newly engaged and Mum was a newish and very enthusiastic quilter. The original plan was that Mum would piece it, and I would quilt it. Over the years, life got in the way (as it does), and other projects and other crafts have taken precendence (as they will), and to be honest, I am amazed it survived the six years it spent in a wardrobe at the old (and very mouldy) house here in Blayney. Last year, Mum got excited about quilting all over again, and took it back to Grafton to finish it.

And here it is. It’s a “Storm at Sea” pattern, in which straight lines do an optical illusion thingy and appear to curve and swirl like water. It is so very beautiful that it makes me want to make the bed first thing every morning (something I am not known for), just so that I can pop in there during the day and admire it.

Thanks, Mum. I love you, too.

10 Responses to “The Cleverness of my Mother, part 1.”

  1. RoseRed January 9, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    Wow, that is so cool! I don’t think I’ve seen that quilt pattern before (which I suppose isn’t saying much, since I’m not a quilter). Clever pattern and wonderful mum! And lucky you (it would almost be enough to get me to make the bed too!)

  2. 2paw January 9, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    Well that is just beautiful, no wonder you just want to stare at it with joy!!

  3. amy January 9, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    So beautiful!

  4. amy January 9, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    Oh, and can’t wait to see part 2…!!

    • kissmyfrog January 10, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

      [Steeples fingers and raises one eyebrow in a very arch manner] And yet wait you shall… don’t worry, it’s worth it.

  5. Lynne January 10, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    Those straight lines do seem to curve. It is the most wonderful quilt – I’m glad you look forward to seeing it in use every day.

  6. knightlyknitter January 10, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    How lovely! Way to go YourMum!

  7. knightlyknitter January 10, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    PS I note that your New Year’s Blogging Resolution is still in force…

    • kissmyfrog January 10, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

      Yep, ten days in, and I’m still on the wagon. Woooooot!

  8. Leonie February 13, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    That is my most favourite quilt pattern ever. One day I will have a Storm at Sea quilt on my bed. It’s just too clever not to have one.

Leave a Reply

