The Cleverness of my Mother, Part 3.

14 Jan

Click, then scroll down.

As Amy (and probably others) guessed, the final installment of this series (for now, because I’m sure that Mum will come up with further evidence of her crafty brilliance in the future) is Sasquatch’s quilt. While we were looking at quilts to get an idea of what they would like, Boyo chose a style (log cabin), but Sasquatch fell madly in love with a specific quilt – a scrap quilt made from old green work pants and flannel shirts (see thumbnail at right*). He announced “I want that one.” I explained to him that he couldn’t have that particular quilt, because it belonged to someone else: “See there, where the owner’s name is embroidered on one of the green patches?” “Well, I want one just like it.” (he appears to be going through a laying-down-the-law phase at the moment). In the end, we agreed to send the pic to Grandma and let her use it as inspiration. Here’s what she made of it:

It’s bright and cheerful and he loves it, as I knew he would. And, as before, the back is a collaboration with Auntie Marie, this time with an over-riding chicken theme for some reason…

Sasquatch is a bit blurry here because nanoseconds after this pic was taken he fell over backwards and landed on his bum.

Hilarity ensued.

~~~

*I can’t for the life of me find the blog where I discovered the original quilt pic. At the time I wasn’t thinking about blogging, I just saved the pic to my hard drive, and emailed it to Mum. I spent a good two hours this morning looking for it, but evidently my Google-fu has deserted me. Should the owner of the quilt ever read this post, please leave a comment and I’ll be more than happy to give credit where it’s due.

~~~

ETA: Thanks to Amy for finding the website for the quilt. It’s the Peterson’s Greens quilt; scroll down for the story behind it. I think they’ve updated the site since I first saw it, because I’m sure I would have remembered this story.

6 Responses to “The Cleverness of my Mother, Part 3.”

  1. Lynne January 14, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    You’re right – another example of your mum’s creative brilliance. I hope Sasquatch wasn’t hurt in the taking of the photo.

    • kissmyfrog January 14, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

      Nah, he just rocked back on his heels a little too far and overbalanced. Sasquatch is my stunt-baby: he’s that kid who always wants to swing right over the bar, who climbs straight to the top of the jungle gym and then hangs upside down like a monkey, who can’t go fast enough or high enough or far enough.

  2. RoseRed January 14, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    Another fantastic quilt! I think your mum translated it brilliantly!

  3. amy January 15, 2012 at 6:31 am #

    http://www.elegacyquilts.com/patchwork_quilts.htm

    I have Google Image Search on my browser–I think I had to add it in from somewhere–and you can search for any image on the web by right clicking on it. (Helpful to know where else your own images might have ended up without permission, too.)

    Beautiful quilts! Lucky boys.

  4. knightlyknitter January 15, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Wow! I love this one too! Thankfully lack of a sewing machine is keeping away any stray urges to take up quilting…
    Do you think your mum could infect my mum? heh heh heh

  5. 2paw January 15, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

    Oh, Amy beat me!! You can search in google images and upload an image from your computer. It’s very cool. As is the new quilt. I think a child needs to have some crafting opinions. And elicit hilarity!!

Leave a Reply

