Mmmm, new socky goodness…

20 Jan

I finished knitting the Noro cardi* a couple of weeks ago. The finishing-finishing will have to wait until the boys go back to school and I can sit down to seam it in peace and quiet. Meanwhile, I needed another project on the needles. The Blackberry Jam* socks I was working on have misbehaved (read: too tight on the foot) and have been banished until I can forgive them enough to rip back to the heel flap and re-knit the foot. The Wollmeise Clapotis* has disappeared into the depths of the stash cupboard and I haven’t had the time to pull everything out and go digging for it.

So, I wanted another socky project, something fairly no-brain-ish (but not too boring), and the Crazy Zauberball I bought in Brisbane was still sitting there on my desk flaunting its colours at me right beside my copy of Favorite Socks*… sooooo:

They’ve been getting fairly regular love, at least one pattern repeat per sock per day (usually while ogling Christopher Eccleston watching Doctor Who of an evening). Amazing how fast things will grow if you actually work on them.

And then, just because I can, this morning before the boys’ swimming lessons I pulled out the skein of Socks That Rock Froggin’ that’s been lurking in stash for a couple of years now, and I waved the skein at Ravelry, and this is what fell out:

This represents about one hour’s worth of work, sitting poolside while the boys had lessons.

*Rav-links all.

8 Responses to “Mmmm, new socky goodness…”

  1. RoseRed January 20, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    Amazing how knitting grows when you work on it, isn’t it! Heh!

    This crazy z-ball socks look so cool!

  2. 2paw January 20, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    Yes, it is like magic when you spend time knitting and you see progress!!! I love your rainbow coloured wools and the patterns show them off so well.

    • kissmyfrog January 22, 2012 at 9:46 am #

      The Zauberball is making me so happy, watching the way the colours play… Mind you, I’m pretty easily amused at the moment. I’ve had the boys home for 5 whole weeks – a week from now I’ll probably be sitting in a corner dribbling on myself for fun.

  3. Kate January 20, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    oooh, pretty! I can’t wait to see the Noro Cardi all done! And regular application of knitting action to WIPs produces FOs? Maybe something I should try…..

    • kissmyfrog January 22, 2012 at 9:38 am #

      Look at you, teacher-lady, boiling it down to a pithy little aphorism – what’s next, expressing it as a mathematical formula? 😉

  4. Lynne January 20, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    Ah socks, great travel knitting; especially good in summer!

  5. dunlop65 January 21, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    Ive looking at the zauberball for a while and I simply must have some now,what ‘s your colour way,is it the tropical fish one? so yummy!!!!!!!!!!

    • kissmyfrog January 22, 2012 at 6:44 am #

      Yes, that’s the ‘Tropical Fish’ colourway – when I bought it, I was actually hoping for the regular Zauberball in the ‘Rainbow’ colourway, so I was kind of settling for this, but I’m so glad now that I bought it, it’s just so much fun watching the different colours play out.

Leave a Reply

