Pizza Pizza.

5 Feb

Since time out of mind, Friday night has been pizza night here at the House of Frog. We used to buy take-away pizza, usually from one or another of the franchise places in Orange. Then, about a year ago, I started making them myself, because I have all the equipment and ingredients, everybody can choose their own toppings, and home-baked is just… better.

Tech Support’s diabetes has meant changes, most notably having to eliminate almost all carbs from his diet: he has a low GI cereal for breakfast every day, and once a week he has a small serve of pasta (al dente = low GI), and that’s about it. We’ve tried a few different so-called diabetic and/or low GI crust recipes, but they weren’t very nice, and still pushed his morning sugar way too high, so he reluctantly gave up pizza. I think that sacrifice has been the hardest for him, even more so than potato (and he lurves potato).

Every other night of the week, I eat the same as T.S., but he insists that the rest of us still have pizza of a Friday night. I feel really guilty sitting beside him, eating one of his very favourite foods while he has frittata (we’ve found that eggs work for him – high protein, NO carbs at all, and he doesn’t have a cholesterol problem, so there’s no issues with the yolks). It’s almost impossible to eat pizza without making happy noises, and how can I do that while my darling is sitting right there, not eating pizza?

So, when T.S. announced he was going to be away for a couple of nights on business, I changed Friday pizza night to Sunday, and tonight the boys and I made and ate our pizzas with all appropriate happy noises and no guilt at all.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 Responses to “Pizza Pizza.”

  1. Lynne February 5, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    They look delicious! My favourite savoury food!

  2. Regenia February 6, 2012 at 1:23 am #

    Have you seen the cauliflower crust on pinterest? It seems to be getting lots of good reviews. Also, why are you still buying pizza sauce? I add about half a teaspoon of sugar to a small can of paste, heat olive oil in my pan, cook the paste and some sliced garlic until a little caramelized and then water down to the right consistency. Ridiculously easy, cheap, and we all agree better than most of the take away places.

    • kissmyfrog February 6, 2012 at 7:57 am #

      Hahahahaha! You’re so funny! Cauliflowers only exist as proof that Plants v. Zombies is not just a game, but a terrifying glimpse into the future. Seriously, while T.S.’s vegetable repertoire has broadened considerably in the weeks since his diagnosis, I don’t think the day will ever come when he’ll willingly eat any of the cruciferous vegetables.

      And I’m still buying pizza sauce because I have learned to pick my battles. I could easily make sauce, but Boyo will eat the bought kind without a fight. We only use a couple of tablespoons’ worth once a week, so the cost savings simply aren’t great enough to make the drama worthwhile.

  3. amy February 6, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    Sympathies to T.S. I used to make my own pizza crust, too, and I can’t find a gluten free recipe or mix that I like. It’s just never going to live up to this 3/4-Italian woman’s standards for what pizza should be. We’ve found a GF frozen pizza brand that I can tolerate & the kids like, and I just had to get it through my head that it’s good for frozen pizza (something I never, ever ate pre-celiac diagnosis) and leave it at that. If I think about it too long, I’ll get sad, and in the big scheme of life there are better things to be sad about.

  4. Kate February 6, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

    ooh, pizza! sympathies to Tech Support, but oooh! Pizza!!! Must get my hubby onto making pizza dough this weekend (he being the resident baking expert these days)

  5. 2paw February 7, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    Oh, it must be so hard to give up potatoes and pizza. Potatoes are such a staple her,e we have change-overs from old to new, just like from flannelette sheets to cotton. (My nan, not me, I hate flannelette sheets!!) I like making my own pizzas because I can have whatever I like, or whatever is in the fridge. Yes, pick the battles you want to fight, and win the war!!!

  6. Leonie February 13, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    That Pizza looks really good! Jules is the pizza maker in our house which reminds me we haven’t had them in a while. Happy for you that you have had a chance to have some guilt free 🙂
    Perhaps when TS’s diabetes settles down he will be able to have some for breakfast?

Leave a Reply

