Business as usual.

8 Feb
  • Sasquatch went back to school this morning. He still has a bit of a cough (which can turn into a full on hack-’til-you-gag extravaganza if he overdoes it), but the doctor assures me that this is normal, and the ‘post-Whooping Cough cough’ can go on for a couple of months after the infection is cleared up (oh, joy).
  • You have never seen a kid so eager to go to school. He was completely ready, backpack on, standing by the door by 8.30am. Then he had to wait (more or less patiently) while Boyo dragged his feet and generally wasted time until 8.55, when I lost my cool and started shouting.
  • After that, I had a nice quiet day, pottering about the house, and the TV did not go on at all.
  • I even got to use the new iPod dock I got for Christmas, which has barely seen any use because school holidays + rain + boys = what’s the point in even trying to listen to music?
  • The Hop, Skyp socks are up to the heel flap. I do love knitting with the STR yarn – it’s just so sproingy and round. It makes my fingers happy.
  • The Crazy Zauberball socks will have to be ripped back, because the all-over cable pattern has no elasticity at all, and they won’t go over my heel. I even gave them a good hard blocking to see if that would loosen things up. It did, but not enough.
  • Tech Support got home from his business trip just in time to go and pick the boys up from school, so this evening everybody is back where they belong.
  • Sasquatch has announced that he wants to be in the school band. He wants to play the saxophone. He promises to practice every day.
  • This weekend I will be buying noise-cancelling headphones.
9 Responses to “Business as usual.”

  1. Lynne February 8, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    Sounds like an average day! LOL

    Good luck with the new saxophonist in the house!

    • kissmyfrog February 9, 2012 at 10:43 am #

      Yep, very average – a nice change, really!

  2. RoseRed February 8, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    Bummer about the Zauberball socks.
    I have knit with a lot of 4ply yarn in my hexipuff madness, and I think STR is my favourite of all – for the same reasons you mention. It is just so lovely.

    • kissmyfrog February 9, 2012 at 10:41 am #

      Yes, it’s a bummer, but not that big a deal. I’d much rather have wearable socks than half-knit uselessness, and the Zauberball is almost as lovely to knit with as the STR. Not as quick, mind you – a much thinner yarn than the mediumweight STR, so the Z-ball takes a lot longer to show progress, but still a happy yarn to work with. I think I’ll go with something nice and ribby this time, to maximise stretchiness and guarantee that they fit!

  3. amy February 9, 2012 at 4:03 am #

    I’m taking the excuse of needing two new baby knits to use STR, because I like knitting with it so much!

    Glad everyone is doing better! All my kids *sound* like they have whooping cough, but supposedly they don’t…although it hopped over the bay & there was a case in our district last week…

    • kissmyfrog February 9, 2012 at 10:36 am #

      More baby knits? Is it raining babies over there? Lucky little people, to get so much woolly goodness so early in their lives.

      There is no such thing as containing a disease these days, with everybody zipping all over the world, and too time-poor to take sick leave or too inconsiderate to stay away from public places.

  4. 2paw February 9, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    Good luck with the saxophone!! I am glad things are getting back to normal. I don’t even know what STR is, I am a knitting heathen obviously!!

    • kissmyfrog February 9, 2012 at 10:22 am #

      Mea culpa, mea culpa! I should know better than to assume. STR is Socks That Rock, by Blue Moon Fiber Arts. I’m working with their medium weight sock yarn, which is about a 5ply, really round and amazingly springy – the stitch definition of this yarn is to die for, and the colours are amazing.

  5. Leonie February 13, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    Sounds like we’re all busy at the moment. Glad Sasquatch is off your hands and happy to be back at school. On to the knitting 🙂

Leave a Reply

